Enter the Year 2017, with Self Portrait in Cash (Original Art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

2017 is upon us. Not that I make lots of accurate predictions-- mainly this is an art exhibit, and the piece of art being displayed here in this post has an apparent prediction in it. I think I remember why I painted it back in 2003. I'd been told that there would be troubles.

In 1984, I received a detailed letter from a relative, describing a financial collapse of giant proportions. In the letter, I read about how the United States was becoming a service-based economy, instead of a product-based one. The formula for the USA was apparently working on industry, big industry which, in 1984, still existed in the country. 

I was told to get out of debt, get rid of credit cards, and get ready for it all to fall apart as the manufacturing capacity was shipped away somewhere else.

The painting was done in 2003, a couple of years after Sept. 2001 happened. Maybe I was remembering the 1984 letter, and was expecting a dollar collapse any day, but now, with a new year, it seems like the dollar is in trouble like never before, with things like Bitcoin adding some competition for the old US Dollar. 

Is the dollar going to collapse in 2017? I've been hearing that it was going to for 32 years now.

 Could 2017 be the big year, or is this just an excuse to post this artwork? We will see.

Here then is my 2003 'Self-portrait in Cash', the Fall of the American Dollar.

2003 oil on illustration board 

@therealpaul


Sort:  

WOW!! You drew this? It's gorgeous! Is that you on the dollar bill? Handsome :) I really didn't think you could impress me MORE than you already have. Super talented guy, how lucky am I to call you friend with all of your incredible qualities and gifts!

oh gosh thanks- the mouth isn't quite right, it was my first self-portrait in oils.
Your brother's music is making me think of songs to share here. Thanks for sharing his tunes-- that little guitar riff in the latest song is slick. I play a piano and keys, and write swampy grooves and oddball tunes of all sorts, but the visual arts and I go way back.

You're a musician too?? What can't you do?
I'm feeling pretty darn good right now. I thought the alcohol would get me in trouble, instead I earned a LOL from @smooth, another one from barry..something along with "I love your honesty", I got a picture comment from papa with a poster congratulating me on my new rep point complete with a squirrel drawing, kiwideb told me that I made her laugh and I gained another follower...not sure who yet, have to scroll down the list. All in all a successful steemit Eve of Gregory LOL

Nice end of 2016 sounds like, it's nice to have your energy here that's for sure, thank you! And 61 rep, yow!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44