Backyard Chiropractics: When the Back Pain Makes You Insane (PHOTOS)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

You'd have to be crazy to try this at home.


This technique of twisting the backbone to solve back pain should be left in the hands of professionals or crazy people, so I'll demonstrate the method here, since it has helped me solve back pain in the past when there were no professionals around, or when the lingering pain got so tiresome that something crazy had to be done.

@therealpaul, showing you where it used to hurt

I don't know what was going on with my back. According to my guru, since the body is the shadow of the mind, then the mind-- MY mind-- would be the place to start. My worries about money, were thereby seen by my guru in my failing lower back, and it was true; the back used to go out the most during the worst of money problems. The guru offered nothing more, no clues how to solve my money problems, and no tricks for fixing my back in the meantime. Thankfully I have a neighbor who knew some helpful physical therapy, and the method that he showed me has been so useful to me, I wanted to share it here.

Healing the Back with Yoga


It might be scary to consider doing your own bone-popping, and it may be hard to imagine a sane person doing their own chiropractic work, but the following technique helped me, and when all of the tension and sympathetic muscles loosened up enough for me to do a little 'twist and shout', I was able to heal myself, and go beyond all of the fear while getting rid of the pain.

The Twist and Shout

Here are the steps that I was taught, the twist that I used to put my back back together. All of these moves I repeat as needed, until I hear a satisfying CLOINK sound come from somewhere down my spine. This isn't a 'how to fix your back' article, it's just how I fixed mine. If your back is injured in any way already, this technique may not be anything to try right away.

First I lie down on some carpet, the floor, or right in the grass-- as long as it's firm support. I do my best to relax all of the tensed muscles in my back, but they sense that something is up, and are ready to tense back up if there's any movement. They act as sentries around the spine, but eventually they'll let me pass so that we can all relax.

  • Step 1.- Turn head to the right:

  • Step 2. - Rest left ankle on right thigh above knee:

  • Step 3. - Exhale, and let weight of left leg pull right leg down, no forcing. Ideally the right knee should touch the ground, but it often takes a few days of limbering up for that much flexibility. Breath the weight of the leg down, feel the back twist a bit more.

  • Step 4. - Now everything is mirrored-- turn head to left:

  • Step 5. - Rest right ankle on left thigh above the knee:

  • Step 6. - Exhale, and let right leg's weight pull left leg over and down, all the way to the ground if possible, but maybe not at first:

    'CLOINK!'

  • Step 7. - Now curl up and hold knees to chest, head forward, and rock and roll on the lower back a few times:

  • Step 8. - Stretch out and become very long, breath in and then exhale, become even longer:

The thing I listen and feel for is the 'cloink' sound, a reverberation that I feel and hear, and it usually means that I'll be able to walk again afterwards. A few more sessions like this and eventually it locks back where it's supposed to be, I'm all limbered up and back to normal.

I usually notice that my money problems and worries have vanished or been solved by the time I get it cloinked back together back there, and my guru nods with a knowing smirk. The guru might say that the lesson was 'stop worrying about finances and your back will quit hurting', while I know that while that may be true, I can also twist and shout my back into submission so that I can get back to work.


thanks for reading, and may your back stay ever cloinked and strong.

@therealpaul

Sort:  

Be patient-- the last time I had to do this it took a solid week before things stayed put back there. Takes some time to limber up. I used to do this dozens of times a day too, I was persistent.

You are quite welcome, it's something valuable to keep in mind for me.

I hope your back stays worry free ;) It was fun watching you flip all around in the grass, and good to see your smiling...smirking? Face :)

I don't know how I missed this comment-- and yes that does look like a smirk doesn't it! I guess it wasn't a smiley situation.

Hello @therealpaul,
I used to perform this technique during the yoga classes of our martial arts training. This technique is somewhat useful, but if done too aggressively can also do harm. You may be interested in viewing a much gentler technique that I just posted on my own blog. It has been my saviour, so I'm sharing it so that others can be spared the pain too.

I do try to be gentle with this, it's never forced. I'll check yours out, good to know there are other ways. Thanks

Thanks for the lessons in cloinkature. It sounds like a good idea, no pun intended. The back seems to be such a fickle partner of our vertical selves. It's nice to have a new method to try to get it all back in line.
I agree, stress is one of the most damaging things to all parts of our bodies, stomach, back, muscles in general, and heart. If only we could just relax. Thanks again for the info and demo.

Ask your cloinkopractor if this is right for you.

I looked all through the yellowed pages for one, but there were none to be found. So will try that Internet thing, it seems to know everything.
You seem very wise, so A Question: Are the whitened pages the same as a white paper about the human condition? I figured they were, so I've been reading them page after page after page for some insights, but so far all I have gleaned from them is a whole lot of new name ideas and many, many addresses I am not familiar with. Is there a better approach to this idea?
Signed,
Bleary-eyed in BloggittVille

Yep, and this is why I had to create a 'do-it-yourself' so I could do it myself. I can't believe you even found a phone book, those must be nearly extinct by now!

Believe it or not, I still have one of those ancient things. And a land line. I like to have a book now and then, as I get tired of going to the computer to look up a number/address. My 1910 vintage flip-phone just doesn't tell me enough about the local cloinkopractor.

cloink is my kind of word. I love this kind of stretching. My thing is hips and upper back/neck. I'm glad you found what works.

I also made up the word "poink"; to poink is to make a "poinky oinky". It's a really official gardening term...lol.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@gardenlady/poinky-oinky

A poinky doinky to make holes for seeds? < My guess... is that close?

Example! For a non-spring flowering plant like phlox, or sedum. In order to prevent these plants from getting too leggy, cut them down in half (at memorial Day). Then, take the cut-off stems, and just 'poink' (combo of poke and point) them into a place in your garden that needs a plant! keep watered. These stems will root, and voila! Plants for free!

Nice! New ways to 'grow' a garden... do the poinky doink!

poinky oinky- doubling your plants
poinky doinky- making holes for seeds!

I have GOT to try this! Thanks @therealpaul! Upvoted & re-steemed!

I imagine that it will help, I'm happy to share. Thanks!

i'll try this next time

Let there be no 'next time', but if there is, this limbering will help keep it from happening so often. It's the best body hack I know yet.

Hello @therealpaul

That is a very nice technique i would try, some years back i did a job after secondary school to make ends meet.

I have stopped the job but it required carrying heavy stuff daily so my spine somehow shifted, sometimes my spine get somehow curved and i have to ''cloink'' it back into place.

Thanks for sharing

@ogochukwu

That pain sounds familiar, and this trick might help, but for me it was always slow in the beginning of the exercise. Very gentle, no forcing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66