Poinky Oinky!

in #gardening8 years ago

I have a pension (is that the right word?) for making up names for things or activities especially if I can't remember that name. So you ask "What is Poinky Oinky"? I'm here to explain this important gardening process!

It is the time of year to cut back many perennials. Cutting back will prevent 'leggy' stems and it will also encourage more flowers. Asters, phlox, sedum (if your sedum gets too large), and other late blooming flowers can all get cut back.

TIP: Cut back on the patriotic holidays! Memorial Day and again on July 4 (optional: depends on if your plant is still too tall).

So if your phlox is now standing 2 feet tall, time to cut them in half. What to do with the cut-off stems?

TIP: Poinky Oinky, of course!

HOW-TO

  1. Cut asters or phlox or sedum in half

  2. Take the 'POINTS' (the cut-off pieces) and POKE them into a big pot of moist potting soil OR POKE a handful right into an empty spot in your garden. (Get it? Poinky Oinky is a bit of a combination of Point and Poke! )

  3. Keep the points moist ie. water everyday. Don't let the soil dry out.

  4. Watch the cut stems actually root and grow!

Now you know how to Poinky Oinky. It's also a great way to share your plants with friends. All my asters and all my phlox come from this very scientific method!!

Pic #1 are points of white phlox I got from a garden that I work in (I LOVE her snowy white phlox!)

Pic #2 I transferred the points into the garden seen here in front of the clematis .

Now we have to water, wait, and see :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69