Walk a mile in his shoes ....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

Anyone who is familiar with my blog will know that one of my themes was the "Dining Out" column where I reviewed a restaurant where we had been dining on a particular evening. The last review was done just over a year ago and can be found here..go check it out {smile}.

Well part of the reason I have not done a review for a while is the simple fact that we do not eat out all that much these days.


What it's like - Everlast

It was always our habit to go out every second Thursday evening, taking turns to settle the bill. One night we were sitting in the restaurant talking about how bad unemployment is in our country and the fact that the street corners are getting more and more crowded with people trying to get a days casual labor.

Now, what inspired this post was a comment by a relative over the weekend.


Image Credit

Our restaurant bill was always around R400 ($35) and so we decided we would only eat out once a month and on the week we did not eat out we would take the R400 in R50 notes and ensure that eight random work seekers would get a meal in their stomach that day... and so that is what we do.

While hearing the story this weekend a relative who was visiting and whom we do not often see remarked 'but what if they just use it to go get alcohol? that is probably why he / she is unemployed' .... Needless to say I saw red but replied that that particular viewpoint was really cynical and completely without empathy as she had no right to judge unless she had walked a mile in his shoes ... and hence the music you are listening to.

We've all seen the man at the liquor store beggin' for your change
The hair on his face is dirty, dreadlocked and full of mange
He asked a man for what he could spare with shame in his eyes
"Get a job, you fuckin' slob"'s all he replied

God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in his shoes
'Cause then you really might know what it's like to sing the blues
Then you really might know what it's like

Mary got pregnant from a kid named Tom who said he was in love
He said, "Don't worry about a thing, baby doll, I'm the man you've been dreamin' of."
But three months later he said he won't date her or return her call
And she sweared, "God damn if I find that man I'm cuttin' off his balls."
And then she heads for the clinic and she gets some static walkin' through the door.
They call her a killer, and they call her a sinner, and they call her a whore

God forbid you ever had to walk a mile in her shoes
'Cause then you really might know what it's like to have to choose
Then you really might know what it's like [4x]

I've seen a rich man beg
I've seen a good man sin
I've seen a tough man cry

I've seen a loser win
And a sad man grin
I heard an honest man lie

I've seen the good side of bad
And the down side of up
And everything between

I licked the silver spoon
Drank from the golden cup
Smoked the finest green

I stroked the baddest dimes
At least a couple of times
Before I broke their heart

You know where it ends
Yo, it usually depends
On where you start

I knew this kid named Max
He used to get fat stacks
Out on the corner with drugs

He liked to hang out late
He liked to get shit faced
And keep pace with thugs

Until late one night
There was a big gun fight
Max lost his head

He pulled out his Chrome .45
Talked some shit
And wound up dead

And now his wife and his kids
Are caught in the midst
Of all of his pain

You know it comes that way
At least that's what they say
When you play the game

Lyrics: What it's Like - Everlast

Lyrics Credit


So think about this song when you want to judge someone that you do not know based only on appearances. We never know what the history or circumstances are in their particular story. And from experience I can assure you it feels good to see the happiness in the recipients eyes.... and of course it is better for my girth !!

Thanks for reading and take care.

Namaste








































Sort:  

What a wonderful gesture on your part @themagus and yes, I could not agree more! Nobody knows what the person next to them has been through and the reality is, even if they DID in fact spend that money on alcohol instead of food, well - that would be their choice. What you gave them is a gift and perhaps that bottle helps them to cope with the harsh reality of another day.

Hats off to you!

@jaynie, I made that point to her... if he can escape his miserable existence for a few hours in a bottle...well so what!! Did not go down well with the vegan ..( I have no bad habits ) family member. Of course at the time I was probably on my second gin and tonic {grin}
Thanks for stopping by.

WAAHAHA well Ill drink to that! (later obviously...pffft)

LOL ...love the pffft

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80