Ten Violent Things I Used to Believe (And Bringing my Values and Beliefs Into Alignment)

in #life5 years ago

image.png

Understanding that, as one of my professors recently mentioned in a presentation about the neuroscience of othering, “negative emotions trump positive ones and weigh more heavily in our evaluations of people and situations,” and that “the amygdala is quick to learn and slow to forget” has been huge for me in revamping the way I experience and respond to the world. Simply knowing that my brain has a biological bias toward the negative -- making fundamental attribution errors, emphasizing perceived threats, and the curse of knowledge, among others -- has helped me over the last handful of years to be more aware that the information coming in about the world is subject to a series of distorting lenses and narratives, most (but increasingly fewer) outside of my control and observation. Knowing that these things are in play, and that my thinking and emotions do not represent an objective and factual representation of reality, helping me to be more careful about what I subscribe to, take in as truth, and act on.

My study of trauma has likewise been transformational in the ways in which I'm able to have compassion for myself and others, and to meet others where they are at. I'm a bit of a geek about psychology and interpersonal neurobiology, and have studied it and related topics for many years. It's been interesting to watch my capacity for compassion for myself and others unfold as I've learned about both the vulnerability and the resilience of the human heart and mind. My political beliefs and theories of change about the world and relationships have likewise changed, taking on marked overtones of anti-violence, pro-sovereignty, and compassion.

Some things I used to believe that I no longer believe include the following:

  • The death penalty is reasonable and helps keep society safe
  • Criminals should be removed and isolated from society
  • People with anti-social attitudes (who I now understand to be victims of trauma) are worth less than other people (this one really hurts to admit)
  • People with lower than average IQs are worth less than other people (this one also really hurts to admit)
  • Violence can be justified when it's done in the name of a government or group of people
  • Expelling kids and other exclusionary practices are reasonable ways to address bad behavior, and motivates pro-social behavior
  • The legal system is mostly fair and helps victims find justice and healing
  • Minorities who've been outvoted in a democracy should suck it up for the general good
  • Shame motivates people to be better
  • The end justifies the means

I credit my study of interpersonal relationships (including attachment theory), NVC, Compassionate Listening, cognitive biases, the enneagram, Buddhism, mindfulness practices, and the patience and willingness of many friends, teachers, and acquaintances with the unraveling of these and other violence-centric beliefs.

For the last few years I've been examining and adjusting my beliefs to bring them more in alignment with my principles (such as non-violence, sovereignty, compassion, non-duality, the necessity of paradox, accountability, and others). I've found that having become clearer on my principles, my beliefs about how to live well and work toward change have fallen into place more easily, and these beliefs are well in keeping with restorative practices and paradigms. The result is that my relationships are stronger, I can show up more honestly with others, and I'm clearer on how I want my activism, life choices, work, and relationships to look.

I'm also better able to support others, because I'm more practiced at hearing and identifying what they value, and through reflection and acknowledgment of those values, supporting them in aligning their beliefs with their principles. I think the world is full of people with good hearts and kind intentions, whose beliefs have been warped by trauma, biology, the conditions and systems they find themselves working within, power, privilege, and other factors. I believe this skill of helping others to identify their values and bring their beliefs into alignment is necessary for the building of a world based on restorative practices.

Image credit: “Nonviolent Political Power”; Jerusalem mural by Banksy; courtesy utne.com

Sort:  

I’d be interested to read from you about any possible intersection between what you’re receiving from your weekly readings from the Tao Te Ching and your studies in Neuroscience.

There seems to me to be a very clear understanding of hot/cold cognition that underlies all Chinese thought from this period (not just Taoist), so I’m really curious to see if those with more knowledge than me in that field come to similar conclusions.

Thanks for sharing this.
😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kennyskitchen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

We Steem Tuners are Happy to find this post as our Random Upvote Quest. A few upvotes from the community have done already. Hope, this content will encourage/impress/motivate/learn a lot to the Steemians...
There is more to Steem Tuner. check here for some more tips on being a community member. You can also join our discord here to get to know the rest of the community! We Steemtuner Community Supports good posts. We believe being in a community helps to grow. You can join Us.
Feel free to join the SteemTuner community and participate contests to win the exciting prize. Check out the discord server of SteemTuner for more details.

Please note that SteemTuner welcomes delegation from the supporters of this community in voluntary basis. Check out following links to show your support towards the community: 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 300, 500, 1000.

SteemTuner-shine-animationwhite.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99