Life lessons through running || 1 episode #whatilearnedwhilerunning

in #life6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0144.jpg

Hi Steemers,

I never mentioned this before but, most of my blog posts and videos are born when I go out on my morning run. Ideas start flowing and I'm the observer of them. While running I have had from business ideas to deep philosophical thoughts about life.

Running is been my love since seventeen years ago, though there is this weird relationship between me and running, a love-hate relationship. I hate it sometimes because it's physically hard, but most of the times I learn to love the discomfort and the mental sanity I gain through it.

But why would I keep on doing something that sounds uncomfortable and to many people terrible? Because running makes me understand life better. As simple as that. Almost everything you can compare to running.

#whatilearnedwhilerunning

DSC_0061.jpg

For instance yesterday, once I stepped in the park I passed almost every runner, but out of the sudden occurred something that not that often happens: a runner passed me. Of course I speed up. I'm determined to over take him, so I run way faster.

I tried very hard to compite with his tempo. I was blind and controlled by the adrenaline of my competitive mind, but I was completely exhausted after fifteen or twenty seconds. I could not catch up with him. He was way, way too fast.

And there I was, depleted and frustrated. I was really angry while I saw him getting more and more far away and my legs picking up on my previous (normal) tempo. Come on, I always pass everybody at the park!!! -- was my first thought.
But just within seconds I realised the learning... Isn't this the same we do in our regular lives? In our jobs, in our careers, with our friends? We compare ourselves, our journeys to other's!

DSC_0020.jpg

That man is damn faster than I am, his condition is clearly different than mine. He can run probably under the four minutes per kilometre for many kilometres. The reasons can be several, he probably trains more times per week than I do, or has a more intense training routine, eats differently -- whatever that means -- genetics, etc, etc. There can be so many reasons why he runs so fast and me slower than him.

But why do I compare myself to him? Why do I feel such a bad athlete and a loser while I see him disappearing in the horizon if ultimately I don't go out running because of winning a prize as the fastest of the park but because I love running, period.

How easy it is to lose the vision. How easily can we feel the losers of the story because this or that person is already the owner of his or her own company, or has a better paid job than ours, or already has children, or got married, or is traveling and we're not?

DSC_0388.jpg

But why would that mean something negative about you and not just simply that you both have lived different lives that lead to different outcomes.

You just can not compite with another person, and if you want to compare yourself to someone that's to your own self, to your own tempos as with running. When you want to run faster you mind your own business, find a training program, train harder, take rests, measure your progress after a while based on what YOU used to perform before. That's the paradox that our minds don't understand sometimes.

Your life is for you to live, to train, to win, to achieve according to your own and unique path. Don't let others and specially yourself fool you. This is your run, your tempo and your goals. Stop looking at others and use that energy to create new things instead of to feel worst about yourself.

DSC_0288.jpg

.
I hope you enjoyed my first post of this series. Leave your comments below, would love to read you!
P.s Photography is made by me, any questions? Let me know!
.

Lots of love x
Mindi

Sort:  

Great post, I think the best is to compete with ourselves and not with others. Everybody is on a journey and at a different stage or level of that journey, it's a beautiful thing to appreciate that in others but at the same time not deviate from our own paths and self improvement in the way us ourselves happen to need it at that time. Running is a great example

Yes. I agree, that's a great way to put it. I also enjoyed the article. Keep it up.

Great essay. Everyone needs to find their one activity that helps them to their creative space within. I think it’s running or hiking for a lot of people. Walking used to be a big factor for me, before I became disabled. I try stationary cycling; it gives me needed exercise, but I just don’t get that same feeling of inspiration and connectedness. I still feel exhilarated when I’m well enough to get out with my camera and tramp around fields and forest taking pictures, or walking around the seaside.

Hey, I have to admit that your blogs are really inspirational.
I just love the way you write.
It just pumps me up everytime

But at the same time I noticed few grammatical errors / spelling errors( Misspelled compete as compite and you missed out commas is some places) in this blog.
For this I would suggest you to sync your chrome browser with "grammarly", its a tool I personally use to avoid these small mistakes. You could also read your articles again before you post them.

Also, Try looking up different Markdowns that could help format your article better.

You could this one for your inspiring quotes

"A man travels the whole world just to discover that his hometown is the best place to be"

Good luck, Let know if you need any help with this.
Cheers

Thanks a lot, I appreciate your observations, I'm working on that. English is my third language and at the same time I write this blog because I love writing and communicating ideas, I do it to learn more and more about the language. People like you help me a lot, I love feedback!

Every day I read in English and even though it might seem like I don't read my posts enough lol, I do read them more than three times before publishing. There are still things that I do not notice because I still have to learn. I feel literally like a 8 year old again, and sometimes it hurts but it's part of this learning curve I've chosen :)

Lovely to hear that you enjoy my style and that despite the grammar you feel inspired. That really made my day.

Lovely comment, thanks again! (adding up grammarly to my bookmarks)

Cheers,
Mindi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13