You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We all have sorrow, But if we are wise, We know that there's always tomorrow

in #life6 years ago

Thank you for the kind words! As a parent I always feel like I should be doing more...or less. Just seems like there rarely is a right answer. Sure I'll figure this thing out around the time I have grandkids...lol. So it's always nice to hear someone thinks you are doing good.

The message is needed and hope that it reaches more people. There are to many out there who either are in pain or know someone who it right now.

Sort:  

You're welcome @thedarkhorse. I often struggled with "am I doing this right?" when I was parenting, but now my boys are 20 and 23, and although I know I screwed up at times, they really do remember the good times. And after talking through some of the "bad" times, the foundation was strongly in place, and therefore they can forgive and forget. That's the key that I think you have and don't know it. It's something I only figured out how important it was when the boys were older...the fact that I always spent so much time with them...that shows to kids that they are worth it; It's the same with you... you already spend so much time with your kids and it does wonders. Not buying them stuff, going on holidays, but spending time. I remember when I was first getting to know you on here and you were posting "cooking with the kids"... that's the things that mean so much. My ex worked literally all of the time, and i was the one who kept it all together. Today, the boys don't have nearly the relationship with him as they do with me.

You're right about the message too; too many suffer alone and until our culture decides that "mental illness' of any kind is something that should be talked about and not something to feel shame in, then maybe things will change a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72