Help! How to get rid of Skunk Smell??

in #life6 years ago

ynsw1kjyof.jpg

So the dog got sprayed by a skunk...and then I made the mistake of letting him in the house.

At this point the entire house smells like skunk. I have washed the dog in tomato paste, helped a little but overall didn't seem to work. Then washed him with regular shampoo to get out the tomato paste and still he smells...bad.

It was bad enough that the kids didn't even want to sleep here tonight so they are at my Parents and honestly I can't blame them.

The bathroom is the worst spot as I brought him straight in there and then spent 45 minutes washing him, twice. At this point I have taken off the shower curtain and it went into the trash along with the rug from the bathroom floor. Thought for sure these were holding in the odor, but still smelled. Next my Wife gave a deep cleaning of the shower with bleach...then she convinced me to replace the caulk since it needed to be done. Her logic is solid, new bath mat and shower curtain deserves a tub with new caulk. One things off the honey do list.

But still the bathroom stinks! The house as a whole stinks. And the Dog stinks!

Tuesday the Dog is getting grommed and if needed I'll have him shaved as his hair grows fast enough, but he looks so stupid when he gets shaved I'd rather not do it.

Anyone have any ideas that you have used and they worked for you? Don't want crazy nonsense like dump Vodka over everything...yes someone told me that today. Want ideas that you know work!


Photo was taken by me.

Sort:  

Ive heard that tomato soup works best?

The skunk spray is more of an oil based liquid, buy two bottles of baby powder, and puff it all over him, Take one of those micro cloths and rub it in real good, try to get it as close as possible to the skin level, do this twice, then you need to brush the powder out of his/her fur. Kind of like an artificial sand bath.

wow @bashadow that sounds brilliant!
I think that has to work.

Ok we have baby powder that I almost tossed out as we don't have babies in the house anymore. Totally worth trying this!

Sometimes skunk can smell good and sometimes not lol
Quite a few videos on how to, most are to
long to explain a simple thing. Here is a KISS
one, hope it helps!
How to Get Rid of Skunk Smell

This works whereas tomato mixtures do nothing. Use the above link for receipe of baking soda, hydrogen peroxide, dawn soap to make a foam. This will remove most of smell but nothing works 100%. Wait a week. My pups have been skunked many times and they go back for more.

My dog won't even go near the back of the yard now...lol. Not sure he wants anything to do with the skunk ever again.

Somehow I was able to get to discord, but I do not know how to find you by username or by number. I am fitinfun there too.

As skunks doesn't inhabit England, I cant advise you.. sorry but I thought I would pay you a visit anyway :) I'm wondering what 'skunk' smells like though, I'm sure its a smell I have never encountered.

It's nasty and no way to explain it without experiencing it. Now the smell people get offended by when a skunk sprays in the neighborhood is bad, but the smell on the dog was pure knock you on your ass, make your eyes water, and your throat burn bad. Makes me think of getting sprayed with pepper spray....don't ask why, will just say some friends need to be (and were) punched in the balls really hard after doing stupid shit when drunk.

OK, I have experienced pepper spray once when I lived in the US, its was nasty stuff to say the least. The dog is probably not too happy either, their senses are keener than ours.

Its good old fashion tomato juice. Vinegar might help instead of bleach.
It happened to my dog years ago and I shaved the poor bastard. then washed him in tomato juice helped somewhat. but after a day or so he was good to go.
The house another topic. pores items might need to be thrown out.
I am with the kids and out of there LOL. I know its not funny and that smell get me every time.

That is why we tossed the cloth/fabric items from the bathroom. It really is the worst room in the house. Even ran an ozone machine in there last night which restoration companies use to remove smoke smells. Didn't work. Next I'm going with vinegar. We were out and didn't think to pick any up as the plan was to bleach everything.

howdy @thedarkhorse! man I feel so bad for you all and the poor dog, he's so cute bytheway. It's just astonishing how powerful the stench is, I know, I got sprayed when I was a kid and was nauseus for about 3 days!
Hope some of these home remedies work!

Hmmm i read of it @donkeypong post where he mentioned many ways to get rid of the stinky smell...one is washing with tomatoes ketchup if i remembered correctly....

If nobody comes up with anything else I'll try to hunt down the post and see what @donkeypong had to say about it. Pretty sure it's the same idea as the tomato paste that we already used on him, but maybe ketchup works better.

Really hope someone has something that works as we had to shave the dog once because we hadn't kept up on his brushing and he really looked silly for a few weeks. Luckily the hair grows back so it's not the end of the world.

Dogs’ only sweat glands are between their paw pads.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55