For the love of the game - Friday Freewrite

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Broken ribs, broken shoulder, fractured eye socket, scare tissue in an eye, chipped shin bone, dead tooth, cuts which I super glued closed, shattered knee cap, broken toes, and a few broken fingers including one tonight.

What on earth would make someone keep going back to a game that inflicts so much pain and has risk of injuries like these.

Simple...For the Love of the Game.

BTW, as I have 2 fingers tapped together tonight and typing with only my ring and pinky finger on my right hand and my figure is throbbing, but I planned a post tonight so here I am at 1am typing pecking away.

So back to the game, I don't think which game really matters if you have a something you love. But my passion is hockey. There is something about hockey that can't be explained to someone who never played it. I've played a lot of different sports, but none ever compared to hockey.

When you have something you are passionate about the pains and struggles don't really matter. Tonight I took a slapshot in an odd way and it hit on the underside of my glove straight on my middle figure. Knew it was bad as I couldn;t grip my stick. Went to the bench, looked at it and sure enough the finger was broken and on a pretty funky angle. I put my glove back on and went right back out there and played the next 32 minutes of the game in pain to support my teammates. The pain wasn't a factor because on that rink those are my brothers and you do what is needed to help your family.

See i know some of you think this is a little crazy, but the finger is nothing. I finished the game and played the rest of the weekend long tournament when I shattered my knee cap, then 2 or 3 days later went and we had playoffs and had 3 games that day for another team...I played them all.

To me dealing with a little...or a lot...of pain to do something I love is worth it and dealing with that pain to support my teammates is worth it. We don't get paid out there, but we all put everything we have into winning each game.

While this is about my love of hockey and what and the pain I'm willing to endure for the game it also applies to life, right?

When you are passionate about something you need to figure out how to make it happen no matter what. When you can do right by your family even if it's hard or it hurts you suck it up and push forward. When a friend is in need it doesn't matter if it's inconvenient, you just do it.

So many people complain about how hard this or that is, about how they don't have the same advantages as someone else, how they should get what others have without putting in the effort, and so forth...these people need to wake up and realize if they are breathing they have opportunity to help others and themselves.

Yesterday is your past and can't be changed, tomorrow is never guaranteed, but today you can make a choice to overcome something that has been holding you back, to push past some pain, to declare no more excuses.

Ok that might be the mix of beer and pain pills talking, but seriously we all have the same 24 hours and we each make choices each day on how to spend them. Are you doing the things you really want to be doing, and if not why? Don't feel the need to answer, I get this is personal but think about it.



Images are both from pixabay and are CC0 Creative Commons

Sort:  

Totally agree with you @thedarkhorse 😊 if you love something you can conquere any pains for that and there's no regrets on doing that. Hope that you'll get well soon and have a happy thanksgiving with your family, the love of your life.

Thanksgiving is my holiday, we host it and I love it. No gifts given and we just enjoy each other...can't really ask for much more in life. Gifts kill xmas for me. Love the family time, but hate the greed factor that comes into it.

Gifts kill xmas for me. Love the family time, but hate the greed factor that comes into it.

I don't think gifting each other is a real tradition of Xmas right? we don't have that kind of tradition on any celebration except for wedding and newborn baby celebration, but it's always okay if we can afford any gifts. beside, time and present is the best gifts you have in family.

This shows you aren't from the US...lol. Xmas revolves around gifts here. People obsess over what to get people, how much they think the other person will spend so they can spend about the same, and so forth. Not one bit of it in enjoyable as the second I start to enjoy the family time the topics of gifts comes up. Nobody can understand why I feel this way so that creates added tension.

I mean people actually get mad at me for telling them not to buy me a gift and for not wanting to be part of gift exchanges. The price points for these exchanges is low enough that anything an I might want at that price point I would just purchase right away...so then I end up with crap that most of the time I don't even open as I didn't want it or need it in the first place. Yet each year my Wife insists that I am part of a couple exchanges. Drives me crazy.

most of the time I don't even open as I didn't want it or need it in the first place. Yet each year my Wife insists that I am part of a couple exchanges. Drives me crazy.

😂😂😂 but isn't it good for networking and keep the relationship complicated at least once a year though there's no fun for you 😁 I think most adult man feel the same like you..and if only you knew, woman get crazy too when they have to buy a gift for a man 😂

what kind of hockey player has all his teeth

Well I have them all still, but 1 is dead and will need to be pulled and I'll need a fake one put in. Don't have dental and didn't when this happened so it's just not a priority to me. My Wife had to have one of hers done due to an injury as a kid and it was painfully expensive. So until it's needed it can stay in there.

I was just messing with you
They ware face mask now.its not like it was years ago.

I have to take a picture of my jersey

We don't have to wear a shield and until maybe 15 years ago I didnt. I do now and it has saved me a number of stitches and teeth.

Lol
I no. Same here
Got knocked out once from the hard ass ice
Good old days 🤭

Even with a broken finger you still have time for steem.
Now thats dedication

Broken fingers aren't something that slow me down. No idea how many I've had over the years...but it's a pretty good number.

Damn. So many injuries! I wish a quick recovery. I am sure you will be back up and well, way before the STEEM price recovers. 😂

It's not a big deal. I set it myself and tapped it up with the finger next to it. Steem needs way more help then my finger...lol

Wow! When I read about your injuries I was thinking: "Oh, my God, is he in the free fight business or what?!?!?" Lol!

You made a good point, though. Cheers! :D

lol...it's a pretty good list isn't it? Glad it came out right, wasn't sure if the point would make sense. Just because it does in my head doesn't always mean it comes out right. Even harder with a freewrite and not going back to edit things.

Midnight freewrite + no editing + a broken finger = quite an accomplishment :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 60.90% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD or the respective amount in Steem. Vote value is 150% of the bid.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @thedarkhorse!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.129 which ranks you at #3133 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3130).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 252 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Excellent tie-in from nasty injuries to the point of passion in real time. Kind of the hard way of showing a point, you shouldn't have to beat yourself up, in order to write like this! Thanks, thedarkhorse; the education is neverending.

I know the feeling, I play fieldhockey with a broken finger or cut in the eye... All for the game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77