You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mirror, Mirror

in #life5 years ago

Good for you my man.
Recovering had to be one of the hardest things you have ever done in your young life.
So many people in the same boat try and fail.
Addiction to anything is never a good thing, especially when both of the vices you dealt with are legal, and so easy to get.
You have made a remarkable recovery, and to feel better at your present age then when you were in your twenties and thirties, tells the whole story of the devastating ramifications of drug and alcohol addiction.
I am a big fan of Don Imus, and have been for years.
He talks about his addiction to drugs and alcohol openly, and still refers to himself as recovering alcoholic, even after years of staying clean.
His life was turned around after meeting his wife Deirdra who he married in 1994.
I don't know if @puravidaville had anything to do with your recovery, but having a wonderful companion in your corner is a great way to go through life.
I wish you well, and stay true to the relatively new you.

Sort:  

She has a lot to do with a lot of things.

I know what he means by recovering. When I say it, it looks like this:
“The only reason I’m not drinking is because I’m not.”

Does that make sense? It doesn’t typically make sense when I tell people and I have to explain myself. It’s everywhere, like you said, it’s on every corner. There isn’t a day that goes by I don’t want a drink, oh man, especially when I get bad news! Or if it’s raining.. or if I can’t sleep, that’s always a good one, or when the mailman delivers bills I wasn’t expecting.. on a Friday, Fridays are good days. Yeah, “the only reason I’m not drinking is because I’m not.”

No pubs for me man. No bars, no thanks. People are always like “this pub here” and “that wine there” and I just smile and nod.

Dude, thanks a lot for noticing @thebigsweed. I appreciate you listening to me talk to myself.

I see you’re at a 70 today, that’s cool. Your rep is like a bull market! Lol!! That was funny.

“the only reason I’m not drinking is because I’m not.”

I really like that one & yeah i get it. It reminds me of some mental powers David Goggins has used, to get through some extreme situations.

"The only reason I'm not drinking is because I'm not."
I totally get that, and no further explanation should ever be required.
That rep score of 70 is waked out. I was thrilled, when just a couple of days ago I reached 61 .A rep score of 70 is for the big boys.
@dandays, I will listen to you talk to yourself any time my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54