Minimalism: Declutter Your Life

in #life6 years ago (edited)



FullSizeRender.jpg

It's been a few years since the words #minimalism and #minimalist were poppin' in the social media. A lot of Youtubers and Instagramers started posting empty and decluttered spaces as it's one of the latest trends.

Since my husband and I were planning to move out of our current home by the end of April, I needed a way to reduce/remove a lot of stuff to facilitate our moving process. It was somewhere between that 'minimalism' came across my mind. I was never a hoarder and always loved organizing stuff, so I guess it was an easier start for me.



1. Gather Information


I started by taking in a lot of information by searching Instagram, watching Youtube videos, and listening to podcasts. Everyone had different lifestyle but they all focused on one thing: removing extra stuff from your life so you can focus on what's most important in your life.

By removing clutter from your space, you surround yourself by items that sparks joy in you. You'll also be able to focus on important tasks than constantly being distracted.

These are some of the contents that helped me get started.


Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus, Source: The Minimalists



2. Visualize Your Destination


Before you start decluttering process, start by first analyzing how much stuff you own. If possible, count every piece of clothing before and after. Count how many emails you receive. Take pictures of your wardrobe, desk, drawers, laundry room, and kitchen. By this way, you can monitor your progress objectively and can feel accomplished in the end. I started recording the progress in the middle of my journey and I wish I had known this from the beginning.




Our closet after initial decluttering process

My closet is already well-organized but I'm planning to leave only with favorites. This isn't all. I have a drawer that's right beneath the wardrobe and shelving closet on the other side of my room. My goal is to leave less than 200 pieces including all seasonal clothes, underwear, socks, shoes, and bags.

I am not touching my husband clothes because there's not much to begin with. Nearly 80% of clothes in this home are mine...



3. KonMari Method


Kondo Marie is an organizing consultant famous for her "KonMari" method. She states that the bottom line of cleaning up starts from throwing out things perfectly so you never have to do them again.

Quotes from her book <The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up>

  • Keep only those things that speak to your heart. Then take the plunge and discard all the rest.
  • I have yet to see a house that lacked sufficient storage. The real problem is that we have far more than we need or want.
  • In the end, people are unable to discard things either because they are attached to the past or afraid of the future.



Marie Kondo suggests you have to do this at once, and by categories (not by room)

  1. Clothing (shoes, bags, jewelry)
  2. Books (phonebooks, magazines)
  3. Papers (bills, notes, receipts)
  4. Miscellaneous (kitchen, decor, garage, etc.)
  5. Sentimental Items

Gather up everything in one place so you can get an estimate of your possessions. Ideally you should take 1-2 days each for each categories. Some might require less time, and some more. There are bunch of guidelines you can get online.


I will share my progress on Steemit whenever I get a chance. I did not decide to follow KonMari's suggestion to finish tasks within short time because it felt like a burden for me. This will be more effective on me when I enjoy the progress rather than taking it as a burden.



🎔
Thank you for visiting.
Upvotes, follows, and comments are always appreciated!
Good night -


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @theagnes! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello @theagnes, welcome Steemit !!!!!

Thanks! Hope you have a great day :D

welcome my friend! glad you came!

Thanks for visiting :)

Very good article! I saved it in my bookmarks. You should visit @steemiteducation, they promote and reward contents like this one and it’s a nice community. Good luck :)

Thanks for the info. It’s a little confusing and I’m still trying to learn how this works :)

you're welcome! I understand :) I felt a bit overwhelmed as well in the beginning. you can read about what @steemiteducation is about here. They promote any content related to education that's why I thought maybe it might suit you. I also recommend you to visit @ocd and to use @ocd-resteem as a tag of your posts so their curators can find your work. They also help the new users and promote quality content. If you need more help you can ask me :)

Thank you so much for the details. I might ask you a few questions in the future.... :)

You’re welcome :) ok, sure!

Wow! Very helpful! I hope you enjoy it here on Steemit!

Glad to hear that. Thank you🎔


Welcome to Steemit @theagnes!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16