I'm a Beautiful Garbage Collector :P

in #life6 years ago


My Obsession With Antiques 🎔





One of things I love about this town is that there are many antique stores nearby in affordable price range. t's been a monthly event to visit this place. It's only 20 minutes by drive from home. During this time, I tend to listen to one particular song over and over. Today's pick was a song called Ohio by Korean band Hyukoh. It's my favorite song to listen to on a Saturday afternoon. :)

I typically spend about an hour here, looking for items that will be part of my home. They sell old furniture, kitchen items, frames, house decor, LPs, and much more. Unfortunately, I can't spend money on furniture because I plan to make several moves in the next 2-3 years. I purchased a solid brass clipboard and a small standing picture frame.

What I love about antique/vintage items are that they are unique on their own and they possess timeless beauty that can not be seen in modern pieces. I love how they contain stories. I love how I feel when they find a perfect place in my home. I love how they came from different places but still make a great harmony.

My husband calls me a garbage collector. To his eyes, these items add no practicality to our home. However, I can never give them up because that's what sparks joy in me. I wrote a minimalism post yesterday and as though it may be contradictory, I decided to be a minimalist of possessions excluding the antiques. :(

Look how beautiful they are!

KakaoTalk_20180321_171847908.jpg
Isnt' it so beautiful with the light and its reflection on the mirror? It's always been my dream to put up a chandelier when I purchase home.

KakaoTalk_20180321_171849854.jpg
Every little piece of the decoration is adorable :D I have more than enough lamps at home but still wants to make me get more. This is bad.. haha

KakaoTalk_20180321_171851979.jpg
A 2-tier floral dessert tray. No more plates can be accepted unless I get rid of the current ones. 😅😅

KakaoTalk_20180321_171853734.jpg
I liked the swan-shaed lamp. (I keep remind myself that I have enough...)

KakaoTalk_20180321_171855471.jpg
I couldn't make up my mind whether should I buy this beautiful set or not. They are Japanese antiques. I wished to get a sugar/creamer set but they would only sell it as a whole.

KakaoTalk_20180321_171859421.jpg
Pretty but too expensive for a magnifying glass.

KakaoTalk_20180321_171901182.jpg
Green lamp! Again, I had to keep fighting with myself to refrain from buying this. I guess I have to sell my old IKEA lamp. 😔




I am largely influenced by surroundings, and most of us are too. Subtle differences from creative spaces influence your perception at all times. Whether it's a cafe, restaurant, or home, I'd always see someone's life style and preferences in their space. With small addition of so-called pretty garbage, my space became more aesthetically pleasing. I wish to create a cozy place for my family. I wish to share positive emotional responses from this space. Therefore, I'll continue to be a garbage collector for more satisfying and joyful experience.

Hope you enjoyed.
And now, I'm off to cook pasta for dinner!



🎔
Thank you for visiting.
Upvotes, follows, and comments are always appreciated!
Good night -


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @theagnes! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Nice article and welcome to Steemit! My wife has taught me the beauty of some of these hidden treasures and it is wonderful that people are breathing new life into such items.

Hello! I hope my husband finds the beauty of these treasures like you did. Thank you for your nice comment :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : http://www.steemitfollowup.gq

Hi, welcome on Steemit. Have a great time here. If you need any help for starting, join us on Discord channel https://discord.gg/5RJMdDh
We have classes about business, art, poetry, acro yoga, ...

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 3 Reasons To Keep A Journal

Wow, those antiques are so beautiful!

Yes, they are! It seems like I can't stop collecting them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33