A coldblooded story - Part 1 - Unexpected fate.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Previous parts:
Preface

...when you gaze long into the abyss. The abyss gazes also into you. - Nietzsche

Not a voice, not a sound other than the constant muzzled noise of the diesel engine of the van I was in. They didn't speak at all, I could not even hear them breathe... Time halted from my perspective, I felt like I was in there for hours, yet, it could've been minutes. The handcuffs were tight. And even if I could release myself from my restraints, I had the large guy holding me down... And I was sure he'd not treat me nicely after I nearly broke his throat. Weird, he did not retaliate in any way. Yet, he had all the reasons to do so.

They walked me off the van. The nice treatment only foresees a worse one that may come later. Exploiting the drastic change in the situation to stress a victim out.
The country's overall "civil security" was a mess at that moment, one could not go for a walk as the sun set without having to confront a mugger or two, police was shining... in absence, and as they were around they looked in other way thanks to small yet constant bribes. Their salaries sucked to risk their life for a wallet that was not theirs, thing I always understood; they also had a family. So, everyone was entitled to "self defense" within some reasonable parameters, of course one may not walk around the street with an assault rifle, but taking a switchblade along, never hurted anyone, but you better knew how to use it.

This is why, the van moved with total impunity, and I knew that, even if I screamed: nobody would come in aid.
They took the shirt off my head, If I did scream... It'd been pointless, it was a nice country house, LARGE. With fields that reached as far as the moonlight allowed to see, nothing but grass and a couple of lonely trees until reaching the horizon. I could see the city lights reflecting in the air, far, like 20 miles away. Looks like is was there for more than a few minutes.

They walked me in. As we passed the door the large guy grabbed my wrists an took my handcuffs off, he didn't let go: Took my right hand and pressed it against the wall. - "Sit there" he said with a weird Russian-like accent. Pointing at a nice looking sofa. I knew better that I had no other option but to comply, plus... It could've been worse. What the fuck was going on?
2 people stayed in the room with me, they had hoodies and a scarf covering half their face (why the mystery, friends?). They were "talking" but not a word came out of their lips, they were facing each other's right hands' fingers against the palm of the other's right hand, kind of like shaking hands... Yet, only the fingertips made any contact at a fluent interval, both moved their fingers at a rather fast speed. As I could know later, this was a kind of sign language they used. Odd...

Time kept passing by, now, without my sight covered time was passing VERY slowly. There was not much to do in there other than look. The room was nearly dark, just enough to see around, but not enough to read anything... if they had something to read there.

A door opened, it was the large guy: -"Come".
I walked over there, and after walking by a couple of corridors I was signaled to enter a room. In there, a 60, maybe 70 year old Korean was waiting (he was even older... but you know those guys, aging rules do not apply to them as it does with the rest of the mortals).
-"My friend Valmi told me you nearly killed him..."
-"I just wanted him out of the way. May I as..."
-"There's no need to ask anything, you'll get to know everything you need to know at the right time. We ran a background check on you: Ex Navy, tactician, good overall qualifications, several spec forces crash courses... You're like a jack of all trades. I wonder why you never specialized..."
-"I just never felt like doing so, I get bored too easily of tedious things. Seriously, what is going on?"
(He totally ignored my question... a tacit way of saying "you're not supposed to even speak")
-"My friends, were training and you caught them off guard. This is a rather good thing to mention if you knew what do they do nearly everyday. Being distracted is not something we may call out on them very often. You mention you're bored easily, I can provide you a temporary entertainment... I hope an believe that you will accept, considering you're not working, and have nothing better to do."
-"I depends; I have nothing to do, but my spare time is something I really enjoy by doing nothing. It better be good."
-"Ok, we will see, come with me. We need to check one more little thing and I'll show you what is my offer".

He led into the corridors again, and entered 2 doors down.
I walk behind him, yet, he's not there. I glance to my right, and he's standing there... Then I see something moving to my left, something shiny... A fucking knife, coming directly at my neck. No point on trying to dodge, no point of even looking... Block the arm and strike. This folk is going to hate me; it's the second time I got his nose.

  • "Ha! I believe the boys will love to have you around! Please, stay over for dinner and let me explain you what this place is all about while we eat."

So, I stayed to have dinner, with the people that just tried to put a knife into my throat.

(to be continued...)

Sort:  

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @the.assassin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69