Everything Starts With "Why"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Alt Text

“If more information was the answer, we'd all be billionaires with perfect abs” ― Derek Sivers.

One of my best friends is an information addict, he reads tons and tons of books, watches video after video, listens to podcast after podcast…

It seems like he knows every single podcaster on the planet, and I’m not even joking.

But he never, ever takes any sort of action.

He’s a great guy, and I love him to death, but it’s just too hard for him to take action.

He knows it, in fact we talk about that all the time as he always says: “I’m an information addict, I always get stuck in analysis-paralysis.”.

Alt Text

But let’s not be too judgmental here. I mean who of us hasn’t forgot to apply some great ideas and insight they learned from somewhere?

I know I have.

You know how it is, you come across a great tool or idea to increase efficiency, it feels great. But then you forget to apply it when the day comes.

This curious little thing made me wonder if there are ways to make certain information stick more than others.

Because let’s face it, our brain processes a massive amount of information throughout the day.

You would think that the most important ones that stick but sadly there are so many cognitive biases embedded in all of us that makes it hard to prioritize information.

What would be the most direct way to make a certain information float above all the other competing information we see every day?

To hack our brains, so to speak

Short answer, I don’t know.

I started thinking about that and I remembered, I remembered how I used to react to information when I was a kid.

Back then if my parents warned me against doing something and I would always ask “why”.

Somehow a warning was never enough.

Even to this day they keep reminding me that back then unless they gave me an explanation, I would never listen.

Apparently, they’ve explained electricity to me, otherwise I would’ve been stabbing that plug with a fork until my hair looked like the kid version of Hellraiser.

Alt Text

The question remains:

How to make your brain prioritize certain information without succumbing to all sorts re-affirmation and confirmation biases we picked up along the way?

First of all, the hell do I know? Secondly, I’m just gonna invent a new technique, so…

Don’t do this at home!

What’s the most immediate way to bypass the 12 years of Pavlovian doctrine?

I don't know, maybe go back before those bad habits were installed?

You laugh now, but what if one of the main purposes of modern education was to create selective responses and selective outrage?

It sounds hard to believe, I know. But ask yourself this:

You can send people to jail for victim-less crimes where sexual assault is national sport and claim it's rehabilitating and therapeutic and no one blinks an eye.

You can bomb innocent people like there is no tomorrow, you can take people’s freedoms away, screw the economy and cause poverty… But nobody cares.

No one gives a fuck.

If you were to pronounce a word that starts with the letter ‘F’.. It’s whole new story.

Their faces go red, their chests are heavy, shirt-buttons popping everywhere!

The outrage is uncontrollable.

The same of course goes for Christmas-less coffee cups, or any other irrelevant issue that people perceive it’s acceptable for them to get riled up about.

Why does this phenomena keep occurring?

It because someone had the brilliant idea to attempt to neutralize curiosity and critical thinking and train little kids to produce selective responses and selective outrage.

So what if we train out brains to lose all the baggage and prioritize what’s important based on the “why”.

Crazy, am I right?

You know what’s crazier? Hiring a freakin’ dog trainer to base your education system upon.

Alt text

Jokes aside, the ‘why’ is what shows you if you’re on the right track, it’s what keeps you going and prevents you from burnout.

Start with Why

“There are only two ways to influence human behavior: you can manipulate it or you can inspire it.

Very few people or companies can clearly articulate WHY they do WHAT they do. By WHY I mean your purpose, cause or belief - WHY does your company exist? WHY do you get out of bed every morning? And WHY should anyone care?

People don’t buy WHAT you do, they buy WHY you do it.” ― Simon Sinek.

If you can influence other people’s behavior using certain tools, then why can’t we use the same ones to influence our own?

Image sources: 1234

Sort:  

Why has been on one level a great protector and and bigger motivator yet. You and I have a lot in common that way.

In deed, there's a limitless amount of information and new one keeps on popping as nature keeps on moving and evolving. So, how do I select, I look at the general result on my wellbeing. If what I have been bringing into my mind, just like food for the body, leaves me nauseous then I give it a much more critical look and decide whether or not to keep it in after much evaluation. Really, it boils down to, if it doesn't agree with the general health, including the mind's health, might as well toss it aside and let it be.

So much toxicity can be avoided this way and a healthier you uplifted. Thanks again for your article, well done. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

"So, how do I select? I look at the general result on my well being." That's a very, very wise approach.

That's why i try to do, but I forget many times.

Thank you Eric!!

Great post. And timely.

Thanks man!

Excellent post man! I am trying to teach my students to ask "Why" all the time... including to themselves. Its one heck of a powerful word.

I know, one syllable that can change huge things!

Y? :D

-J3DY
:D

No me esperaba menos. Excelente artículo (como siempre) un fuerte abrazo desde Alicante ;)

Otro para ti!

Why? That's why I became a scientist. To be able to understand that question for such a wide variety of things. I understand that is not the point of your post, but its what I think of when ever I hear people discussing "Why?"

so if you have a kid he will be a scientist by the time he's 15 if you answer all his why's :D

Oh gosh lol. I don't think anyone can get to the bottom of a childs "why?" Its like a never ending tootsie pop.

Yeah, you're right, although it's not the point, it's a very important question to ask! In all aspects of life I might add.

Why would I ask that when I can get all the answers delivered to me from mountains of information , and have no time to use and experience those ideas , great idea for the invention of a technique , I remember and still do it to this day, always ask why, when I'm thinking at least, why is someone acting like that , why does he think that, most times I don't ask but get a clear picture of most situations, sometimes after the fact though , but yeah I taught myself, found school boring even, nobody was really trying except for 10-20% of people. It was fun to "compete" for treats :D , got straight A's without studying outside of school and with no books, basically just attended and wrote what I found interesting, sometimes drew , all the other information I spit back at them after a week or month and straight A's .I have to say I've forgotten most of what I've learned , but it's helpful nonetheless , on the occasion the subject comes up or some technical wiz goes on a streak at least I can get what he's trying to say. It's a stupid loop sometimes, :D , can't say its fun to always ask , next stop figure it out :_)

Start With Why is a great book, read it a couple years back and it has inspired a few posts I have written on steemit. One must know their why if they are going to persevere through the ups and downs of an endeavor.

Absolutely! The reason why you do it is what's gonna push you through ups and downs.

Your "Why" is your driver towards what you really want to do in life. They change and evolve however I always suggest doing a self analysis to reassess your environment and intentions often. Passion will always win if you want it badly enough.

I really couldn't have said it any better.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

In your case "Oops I did it again" is the thing that sticks... the question is how to remove it.

Hey! That was said in confidence! ;)

Hm just re-reading some of the 20 questions post... I beg to disagree :p

I like your post, you always get high pay, allowed, I learned on you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97