You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Recent Obamacare Experience

in #life8 years ago

The thing is, rates were increasing and statistically they increased more slowly under Obamacare. So that $327/month policy might actually be more expensive if Obamacare had never existed.

More importantly though, no one really wanted the ACA. It was essentially Romney's plan that Obama used to try and win Republican support... because Republicans won't actually fucking do anything. So Obamacare might get repealed (and I say might because Trump has said he likes most of it now) and not replaced with anything, because it was actually their only idea.

Health care should not be part of a "free market."

Sort:  

In my experience that hasn't been the case. Before I had an emergency plan through Humana One for around $50 / month. Then it went up to $60 / month. I was pissed naturally. But then it went to $230 / month. The deductible was slightly lower. Like $4,200 instead of $5,200. Now the only choice I have is the $327 / month plan. There is no way that in 4 years it would have went from $50 to $327 without Obamacare.

I get why someone who drives a car need insurance. They are driving around something that could crash into other people. But to fine someone for just existing is just stupid. They are trying to force me to pay for some garbage plan or to pay them for not buying into something I don't want.

"The thing is, rates were increasing and statistically they increased more slowly under Obamacare"...I have no idea where you are coming from on this. I was paying something around $200-300 /mo for insurance prior to Obamacare, now I'm at $700. The reason the cost has sky rocked is due to ACA requirement to insure high risk and pre existing conditions...end of story.

I guess I didn't realize rates had never once increased before Obamacare.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59486.49
ETH 2588.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47