You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Long Term Effects on Your Children of Spanking

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for your response, happyme. I'm glad to hear your story about your kids and spanking, as I had a similar upbringing and growth pattern with my daughter. I spanked her hand up until she was two, then after learning more I got rid of all of that. You're right about the might makes right being present in the spanking method.
When it comes to "it didn't turn me into a raging bull", I don't think the spanking helped you be a peaceful person, I think that you became a peaceful person despite being spanked. The love parents have for their kids can dominate a lot of the negatives that spanking brings and there certainly appears to be a correlation between intensity and frequency of corporal punishment and anti-social behavior.

Thank you for your comments!

Sort:  

When it comes to "it didn't turn me into a raging bull", I don't think the spanking helped you be a peaceful person, I think that you became a peaceful person despite being spanked. The love parents have for their kids can dominate a lot of the negatives that spanking brings and there certainly appears to be a correlation between intensity and frequency of corporal punishment and anti-social behavior

I think you could be very correct on that idea. We will never know for sure, because I can't live 2 parallel lives and compare (at least not that we know of at this point). It does make sense though and logic would support that theory. Thanks for the great article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54408.81
ETH 2291.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35