My daughter a Purdue Student-Officially

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Last month my baby girl walked across the stage and got her high school diploma, she graduated in the top 10% of her class with a 4.2 GPA. She is an amazing young woman who I get to call my daughter. She is very smart and compassionate. Through out middle school and high school she has spent thousands of hours volunteering, because she loves helping others.

She was accepted in to a few Universities, after careful consideration she accepted an offer at Purdue. It has a top notch program and ranks #4 for Public Universities in the United States. I couldn't be more proud of my baby girl. She has worked hard to get into a good school and her hard work will pay off. So part of this summer is being spent getting ready for her to start classes next month. First big thing was a trip down to West Lafayette, Indiana for Freshman Orientation, where we spend the night Wednesday night.

Yesterday morning my youngest daughter and I woke up early, packed up our bags from our hotel room and drove the 3 or so miles from the hotel to Purdue University where she will be entering the Science Program next month. She plans on becoming a Chemist. And started the long day of Orientation.
DSC_0071.JPG

When we arrive we were given each given packets with information including schedules for the day.
DSC_0001 (2).JPG
DSC_0002 (2).JPG
DSC_0003 (2).JPG

Everyone started the day together and was divided by majors into groups and we were sent off to go speak to the advisors.
Once that was done, everyone was released to go to what information sessions they needed. To report back to their advisors at their schedule appointment times. My daughters was at 11 so we took the time to get some other stuff done that all needed to be done before the information session. Getting her school ID and we also took the time to open her an on campus bank account. They offer a lot of perks if you open an account during the orientation program including $50 added to her account.

Then we went to some information session, where we got to get answers to all our questions we had. Then my daughter met with her advisor and this was a student only meeting, and after all she is an adult now, she only needs mom on a limited bases, so I took the time to take some photos.

DSC_0055.JPG

DSC_0046.JPG

DSC_0064.JPG

Once she met with her advisor we went to some more information sessions before having lunch in the dining hall. Afterward we went to more information sessions before it was time for her to meet with her advisor one last time to create her schedule.

DSC_0074.JPG
(My daughter and the other Chemistry Majors going in to pick their schedules for the semester.)

Then I took these photos which you can find here
https://steemit.com/photography/@tecnosgirl/flowers-of-purdue-university-part-one
and
https://steemit.com/photography/@tecnosgirl/flowers-of-purdue-university-part-2

Once she was done with that we headed back home. I am left to reflect on how quickly she grew up, how it seems like yesterday she was just this little bitty baby I was bringing home for the hospital Scan.jpg![12109212_10153676334268033_9032117642009362252_n.jpg] (sorry about the grainy image old photo)
and now she is all grown up into an amazing young woman. That I had the privileged to watch grow and mature, a little soul got to raise. I love this girl with all my heart. And am looking forward to watching her mature into the woman she is meant to be. 996147_837501226332179_7797116585129068629_n.jpg

In closing it is hard when your babies start to fly the nest, but I hope I have given her the tools that she is able to fly high and follow her dreams and passions. It will be hard next month when I drop her off at school, but also exciting to in a way that is hard to explain. What I do know how to explain is this my baby girl is officially a Purdue student as of yesterday.

Sort:  

I must have forgotten to post my reply after writing it, so I'll try again...What I wrote was that I was thinking the same thing when I started reading this that it doesn't seem that long since my dad and I went over to Muncie to pick you and your mom up from the hospital since your dad was working -- and it was a dream come true when your mom asked me if I'd like to hold you during the ride.

I never understood when I was young the saying "in the blink of an eye" but now that my kids are flying the nest I totally get it

I've gotten it, too, even though I've never given birth or adopted. Godchildren like you, younger cousins, kids who used to be in Sunday School/Bible School classes I've helped teach, little kids who rode my school bus who now have gray in their hair -- and even with myself, as I can hardly believe that I'm as old as my about-to-retire eighth grade teacher was when I was in his class.

Congratulations @tecnosgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congrats! :)))

Thank you, she worked really hard to get to where she has

Congratulations understandable you are so proud she has achieved so much already

:)

I am a Purdue University grad, it brought back memories and my mom tells me the story of dropping me off at the dorm, and saying goodbye as I started my journey in life. Good luck!!!!

Very nice accomplishment.......I am talking to you @tecnosgirl! Most satisfying too. Great mothers make their daughters life more enjoyable.

Thank you, I did home school her till High school, so I do know I was apart of getting her there. All three of my kids are my everything. I am so proud of all of them.

Congratulations on your daughter's progress. :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40