The Tenth Lunar Month Festival or Ching Pred Ceremony in Phatthalung, in the South of Thailand

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Ching Pred.jpg

The Tenth Lunar Month Festival or Ching Pred Ceremony is one of the most important traditions of Southern people in Thailand. This will be in the tenth month each year. (September is the tenth month according to ancient Thai calendar.)

The purpose of this tradition is to make merit for our beloved ancestors or relatives who had died. We believe that some spirits had to stay in hell. So, this is the day that those spirits can be released from the hell to get the foods or desserts from us. We can express our gratitude to them through this ceremony. After this, they will return to hell.

Southern people call the spirits who stay in hell as “Pred”. For your further explanation, we believe if our dead ancestors or relatives did good things while they still alive, they will be born in heaven but if they did bad things, they will suffer in hell. Therefore, their descendants make a merit this day (for this year, it is on 6 September) and we believe that those foods or desserts can be sent to them and these can make them feel happy.

ching pred1.jpg

ching pred2.jpg

ching pred6.jpg

The following items are samples of Thai desserts that are specially used for this ceremony in the South of Thailand only. Each dessert has significant meaning:

Khanom Pong – Its shape looks like raft and it is light so we compare this dessert to a raft that is light and floated, this can take our ancestors to happy place.

Khanom La – Its shape looks like fabric so we compare this dessert to clothes for our ancestors.

Khanom Ba – Its shape looks like Luk Saba which we use for playing Saba, one of popular sports of the Southern people – so our ancestors can play Saba during Songkran Days.

khanom.jpg

khanom1.jpg

After making the merit or after the ceremony finished, we are going to “Ching Pred”.

Ching = take something from others to be our own

Pred = the spirits who stay in hell

“Ching Pred” means people take Pred's foods or desserts to be their own

By doing this, the head of the ceremony will throw the desserts from a high place and many adults and children who wait below try to get the dessert as many as they can because we believe that if we eat the Pred’s desserts, we and our family will have good fortune.

ching pred8.jpg

ching pred7.jpg

ching pred4.jpg

That’s all for The Tenth Lunar Month Festival or Ching Pred Ceremony for that day.

These pictures from my sister can remind me to the old days when I was a little child, I had a lot of fun during “Ching Pred”! I got many desserts in my hands and they were really delicious!

I believe this would certainly bring me good fortune to meet you all here at Steemit, my friends! ;)

Sort:  

I think I would be really good at catching the desserts! Thanks for sharing this educational post about Thai Culture

Thanks so much for stopping by! I'm glad to know that you are interested in Thai Culture. I think you'll certainly enjoy catching the desserts! Really fun! ;)

It looks like a lovely festival.

Thank you so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm happy you like this festival! Yeah, it's very lovely! ;)

@tangmo , this is a great post! Very good work and interesting festival. You have to put the tag #culturevulture and take part in the competition, which was organized by @eroche . More info can be found here: https://steemit.com/culturevulture/@eroche/culture-vulture-challenge-september-challenge You Have a very decent and interesting job! I wish You good luck!!!

Thank you very much for your nice comment. I'm really happy you like my work and the festival! I much appreciate for your great suggestion regarding the contest and good wish for me.... I'll put the tag #culturevulture accordingly. Many thanks once again! ;)

Nice post dear friend

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like my post! ;)

My pleasure dear friend :)

Such an interesting festival. One more thing that I love about your culture. We are the ones who are fortunate to read your posts...my "cloud lover" friend! : )

I have big smile once again when seeing this lovely word, "cloud lover" ;))

I'm glad you like the festival and our culture..... Many thanks, my dear friend! ;D

And now I have a big smile on my face because you called me your dear friend! Thank you so much, my dear friend @tangmo.

I could definitely see me living where you live. : )

It's my pleasure...... I'm glad to have a nice friend as you!

Here is my big smile for you again, my dear friend! ^_________^

Aw, you are so sweet! I LOVE your BIG smile! Sorry for the late reply my friend; I haven't been here for a couple of days.

You are so SWEET, too! ;))

Beautiful festival!

beautiful post my friend..thank you for sharing ..

You're welcome! Thanks so much! I'm glad you like my post! ;)

thank you & you welcome:)

:))

:)

Nice festival friend

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like the festival! ;)

You are welcome my friend

Those foods are really artistic. Is there some religion based off this?

I'm glad you like the foods! As far as I know, this ceremony is mixed between Hindu and Buddhism! Many thanks for your comment! ;)

its really interesting to learn something about other cultures in the world..thanks for sharing your experience with us..great job :)

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! That's really nice of you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04