Don't grow up, it's a trap

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Is it possible to have a young spirit even when we are all grown up and serious? Can fun which is accessible over mainstream media be enough, or we sill need more? If yes, what could that be?

Don’t you know that it's worth every treasure on earth to be young at heart,for as rich as you are it's much better by far to be young at heart - Frank Sinatra

In order to keep a young spirit, we need to know how to have fun. Life became fast-paced and everything around us is instant, short, fast. Especially the media and the TV program. Most people come home after work and sit on their couch with the remote in hand.

I am 26 and most of my friends are my age. Some of them act like they are in their twenties but some don't. Some of them wear stuff my mom wouldn't buy and act like they are 20 years older. For me that's a sad life because they will have all the rest of their lives to act like that. There is no need to do it now. Of course you have to be responsible and think of your career and goals, but also enjoy life.

In order to keep a young spirit we need to have fun from time to time. Go out, reward yourself, find a hobby, engage in sports, do something crazy, surprise people around you.

But, how do people full of energy think? Certainly not common. They are trying out different patterns of thoughts. Thoughts are like shoes. If we have only one pair, we will wear it out fast. That's why it's important for us to sometimes jump out from our well established, conventional frames of belief which make us feel comfortable. Instead of that, let's try something new.

Philosopher Platon said that most humans live like they are in a dream. They live in a cave starring at the cave walls, watching the shadows made from the fire reflection. They think that the shadows are life, while the real life is outside the cave and is way more fun. The real life would blind them with their shine. The same goes for our minds.

Sometimes we need a new perspective, a new angle. That could lead us to surprisingly good solutions and it could make us exit our cave.

A healthy humor is the final touch to having a young soul. Learn how to joke not just about others but about yourself too. I love making fun out of myself, because I'm one of the biggest idiots I know.

So to keep a vital spirit we should follow simple steps: activate yourself, think sometimes in a different way and spice all that up with a good sense of humor.

Sort:  

I'm 33 I think, I stopped counting after 30 :) As you can see from my blogs, I do something most 33 year olds would think is for kids, writing about games, tv shows, from time to time something about edgy cryptocurrencies.
Well, I would say to them what is wrong with being a kid, specially if it brings that crypto cash. I guess you grow up faster and become more serious once the kids come into the equation. Until then we party hard!

I agree with all you said. What you are doing is called having a spirit :) Who cares what others think anyway

yeeaaay
you guys make me feel I'm not alone 😅
GO #TEAMKIDS

Yes, it's a capitalist trap, and we'll gonna bring it down here, at Steemit @tammizzle :)

I’m 32 and I am like a beagle in warehouse of pork.

Lol 😂😂 You seem to me like a crypto beagle

Leave the comfort zone to feel the fire!

Well said 💥🤘

We can not stop the nature to become older, but we can do something about our behavior to stay young as long as possible.

True. Fun is botox for the brain ;)

"Thoughts are like shoes. If we have only one pair, we will wear it out fast" - beautiful. Thanks for this inspiring writing! I'm putting off growing up as long as I can :)

Thank you :)

I'm putting off growing up as long as I can

Same here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79