Sugar Free Life

in #life7 years ago

Hello everyone,
I wanted to talk to you about my choice to cut out sugar from my diet, and I hope that it can help someone.

images.jpg

A few years ago I discovered five lumps in my body, and right away I had them checked out.
It appears my body develops lumps, or cysts in various parts when I am under a lot of stress (and who is not under stress?).
It was in doctors office, when she told me I have to take hormone pills, and have a biopsy (note: she did think it was benign, and result of stress) that I decided that I need to change my life.
I asked for two months to try to heal my self, she didn't agree but in the end it was up to me, and I choose to listen to my body.
After careful reading and consulting with many doctors and nutritionists, I decided to cut out sugar completely for that two months.
And when I say no sugar, I mean NO SUGAR. No fruit or starchy vegetables, no bubble gum, no pasta, no alcohol etc..
I ate bread that I made, meat, fish, green vegetables, sometimes nuts, and a lot of water!

Let me just say, it was not easy!
First week was the worst, I had no energy, I was very moody (let's be honest: angry) and hungry all the time.
But, as I continued the diet, it got better. My mood swings were less severe (even in PMS), I had more energy than ever before, my skin got clearer, and eyes brighter.
After two months I went to the doctor, and there was no sign of cysts anywhere.
I don't know for sure if it was the sugar free diet, but I felt better, even without the results I knew I was on a good path.

I do believe that sugar was damaging my body. As I see it I react to hormone imbalance more then average person, and sugar just adds to that imbalance for me.
Today, I eat some sugar now and then, in fruit or veggies, or some dark chocolate. But I stay away from refined sugar, and hidden sugar in "low fat" products (read the labels).
I am thinking about cutting out dairy too. What is your experience?

Hope you learned something today.
Till' next time!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. I followed you. I'm sugar free also. I don't eat fruit, either, because it raises my blood sugar to levels I don't want. (That's how I choose, these days. If it raises my blood sugar, I don't have it, whatever other health benefits it might have for anyone else.)

Thank you for the feedback! I will write about it some more in the future!

You may have been healed purely due to your diet overhaul. It does make sense to cut out sugar, but cutting out fruits did not make sense to me. There is a huge difference between the processed sugar we buy and the natural fructose from fruits. The sugar has several chemicals added during the refining process, that may have been triggering the formation of cysts. The pure juice extracted from sugarcane is rich in fructose and good for liver and digestive ailments. Anyway, it is a relief to hear that you were rid of the cysts. Stay in good health. :)

I do agree on the fruits with you, that's why I eat it today. But in that time, I had to cut out all sugar (as the tests stated that I was intolerant to fructose as well). Thank you for your comment and wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36