Steemit Complaint - The STRUGGLE IS REAL Newb

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I know we must all feel the pressure behind posts we make on Steemit. Coming from a business background it's quite prevalent. How do you balance having good content while catching the audience attention for an appeal that will spread like a virus?

When I started posting a month ago I had the greatest of intentions to stay active in the community, too often I create content just to blow it away thinking... That's NOT GOOD ENOUGH. My Google Docs account is flooded with lengthy articles that NEVER MADE IT HERE. And I know I can't be the only one.

This morning I woke up at 4:00am via my internal clock, got my nephew to school at 5am for JROTC Raiders just like every other day. I came back to find that my 5 y/o nephew had wet the bed; gave him a quick wash and changed out the sheets. Made a couple of banana white chocolate macadamia nut pecan protein shake, got the kids off to school and headed to @giftedgaia's place for some fun and laughs. Got home around 9, checked my email; got blown off again by the state regarding an issue I've been very patient on since September. Proceeded to Coinbase to watch my Lightcoin. And then I looked at the browser tab with a Steemit post I've been working on for the past week+. Which lead me to erasing the entire thing and writing this instead.

I'm just a carbon-based lifeform who doesn't think her life is all that exciting, who over-analyzes Steemit posts to the point of having no content at all.
takingitoutonthepunchingbag.jpg
My punching/kicking therapy after deleting a Steemit post.

I still have hope to get a better grip on this. Watching the post of some of people I Follow has been very inspiring: @papapepper, @giantbear, @poeticsnake, @slothicorn

Keep Steeming on!

About Me: Intro Post

Sort:  

When I first started..I spent soooooo much time on my posts, writing...editing. Then I spent even more time actually 'marketing' my post on here. I could easily put in 8-10 hours between it all..on a single post.

Admittedly disheartened, and after a while also worn out...I found a different way to approach it. I started trying to look at from the eyes of someone in my preferred audience.

This person doesn't really care a sparse spelling error, or a rare missed word. They also don't have a ton of time to read something as in depth as I had written before. While they do appreciate a well thought out, ordered and well formatted post...they also appreciate concision. They're here to either learn something on a person/topic/experience, be entertained, see something cool.

Not every post has to be the 'taj mahal'...just have fun, find cool posts or people. I got to a point that I chose to accept a piece for what it was and move on to the next one. Now a days...most my posts take me about 2 hour to put together...that's what I'm comfortable investing into a single piece. I do have the ones I devote more time to, but those are spread out a bit. Obviously you don't have to hold to any specifics here...just find that balance that works for you.

Thanks! All great advice. Writing about the kids and business is easy... It's the posts that entail passion that I can't seem to commit to or stray from until it's finished. I keep saying, I need to hire an editor but these may be the posts that pay the least. ;p

Thank you much for the well-thought reply. I will undoubtedly continue to work on finding that balance! <3

Not all your posts need to be a masterpiece. Especially as a 'newb'. Use this time to develop your voice. Just put stuff out there and in the future you can look back and have a great chronology of your development. I too put lots of work into each post and am disappointed when they get just a couple of views and votes, but I hope that in years to come my body of work will get me noticed. I also agree with @sykochica 's points.

OMG are you me? Because deleting ideas and posts that are just not good enough?

download.jpg

I want some boxing gloves like those, that might help my cause ;)

It's helping my fitness. Just convert some SBD to Amazon gift cards and order a pair. 12oz, Everlast, pink. Get some wraps too as they get stinky without hand-socks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94