You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Complaint - The STRUGGLE IS REAL Newb

in #life7 years ago

When I first started..I spent soooooo much time on my posts, writing...editing. Then I spent even more time actually 'marketing' my post on here. I could easily put in 8-10 hours between it all..on a single post.

Admittedly disheartened, and after a while also worn out...I found a different way to approach it. I started trying to look at from the eyes of someone in my preferred audience.

This person doesn't really care a sparse spelling error, or a rare missed word. They also don't have a ton of time to read something as in depth as I had written before. While they do appreciate a well thought out, ordered and well formatted post...they also appreciate concision. They're here to either learn something on a person/topic/experience, be entertained, see something cool.

Not every post has to be the 'taj mahal'...just have fun, find cool posts or people. I got to a point that I chose to accept a piece for what it was and move on to the next one. Now a days...most my posts take me about 2 hour to put together...that's what I'm comfortable investing into a single piece. I do have the ones I devote more time to, but those are spread out a bit. Obviously you don't have to hold to any specifics here...just find that balance that works for you.

Sort:  

Thanks! All great advice. Writing about the kids and business is easy... It's the posts that entail passion that I can't seem to commit to or stray from until it's finished. I keep saying, I need to hire an editor but these may be the posts that pay the least. ;p

Thank you much for the well-thought reply. I will undoubtedly continue to work on finding that balance! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47