They Drank Champagne From Her Shoes

in #life6 years ago

She came to South Africa on a ship. She was the only woman on board and to wish her good fortune for her new adventure, they toasted and drank champagne from her shoes. 

Yesterday my grandmother passed away. 

Josephine Wallström nee Walda died at the age of 73, just a year after her husband passed. Her last year alive was a lonely one, while family and friends urged her to give up her large four-bed roomed home to instead live with them, she refused. I think it’s because she wanted to hold on to the little of what was left of who she used to be. 

She left a war-torn Holland in hopes of a brighter future in South Africa, which in those days (believe it or not), was considered the land of gold. She wrote to the Dutch consulate pleading for a free pass to South Africa, and the pass was granted. I cannot remember the year, but she climbed on board a ship called the Ms. Jagerfontein as the only woman passenger! She waived goodbye the only family and friends she knew and she sailed away to her independence.  

I never asked her if she felt scared as she travelled, or doubtful of her choice.

As the ship arrived at port, the crew and passengers cheered and to celebrate, they drank Champaign out of her shoes, which is said to be a sign of good fortune.

On arrival in a new and strange country, thousands of miles away from the home she knew, she met my grandfather. Their relationship sparked almost instantly. They were married and in the very first five years f her being here, she gave birth to 5 baby girls. The new family had a rough start, money was tight and there were many mouths to feed. But both my grandmother and grandfather were determined people and, in a few years, they worked their way up to a comfortable living.

When my mother was a mere 17 years old, her and my father had me! Yup, I was a big whoops! But I know I am a much loved one! Because my parents were so young, my grandmother helped raise me, she mothered me along with my mother. 

She then continued to work hard and rewarded this hard work with an early retirement. 

I wouldn’t say my grandparents had the happiest marriage towards the end and even before my grandfather passed, I think my grandmother was very lonely. She grew almost bitter with life.

I feel like her adventure ended on a sad note. Or was the moment she stepped on to the ship enough for her to say she enjoyed a full and eventful life? 

Now that she has left us, I feel like I wanted more for her. 

Yesterday my granny was found dead in the pool by her neighbor. An accident that belongs in a movie. We’ll never know what happened or why it happened. I feel she was due a little more dignity for the brave, strong and courageous woman she was. 

Rest In Peace granny…

See you later alligator….


Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189

@steemitmamas
Sort:  

An icon has gone home , accept my condolence

What a sad,tragic and happy post all in one..... My condolences to you and your family. It is a such sad time if a granny dies and this is even worse as it was so unexpected.

My grandmother died last year in October and I miss her everyday. She was 95 years old, and she was my biggest supporter in life.

I am sorry for your loss @sweetpea. They leave a big hole in our hearts. The pain subsides but you will always miss them. Today marks the third anniversary of my husband's passing. So I am familiar with grief. But things will get better.

I am so sorry for your loss! May she rest in peace...

So very sorry to hear about the tragic way your granny passed away! She was such a lovely young lady, full of hope and dreams and then the loneliness later on, so sad! My sincere condolences to you and your family.

My thoughts and condolences to you and your family. Hats off to you for sharing such an emotional part of your life also.

My condolences she is a very strong woman travelling alone in a different country to find new life. I love that first photo of her shows strength and independence. That last photo is a great way to remember her by with a faint smile. Thanks for sharing your grandma's story.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

wao beautiful story, really a very beautiful and fighter woman

The best example of women power...RIP ....my condolence for the lovely grandma 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65