Consumerism = Buying things that you don't need

in #life7 years ago

Have you ever wondered why some things are cheaper than other even though they are the same quality? Why does NIKE t-shirt costs twice as much as same color, same size, same material t-shirt without the “check” sign? Why people keep buying Coca Cola even though it's just pure sugar? Why people buy bottled water when they have pure, drinkable tap water at home (most of the homes have drinkable tap water)?

One thing about bottled water, if you buy this one bottle of pure water instead of using your tap water, you are also buying a piece of plastic, which will most likely end up floating in the ocean and polluting our environment. 

Some time ago, I came across a video with my favorite actor Woody Harrelson about consumerism and I felt really empathically about it. I consider myself non-consumer as I don't have/watch TV, don't watch commercials, I buy only stuff that I really need, I re-use plastic bottles and bags as many times as I can. I also don't buy new clothes unless I need one, I currently have jeans with unintentional holes in them, but I live on a tropical island and jeans with holes make me look COOL :D

Buying new things is a choice, if you do, you are just contributing to the growth of large corporations which are enslaving people and children in factories with terrible conditions for almost no reward. If you need to buy something, just don't buy the most popular, expensive brands, focus on local manufacturers instead.

Wake up people! Watch this video, watch other videos on this topic, do your research and educate yourself!



Sort:  

Enjoyed this thanks for sharing! If you're into beauty/makeup I'd recommend the "anti-haul" series by Kimberly Clark in YouTube- a totally fabulous reset about the things that "influencers" are always saying YOU CANT LIVE WITHOUT! 👌🏻😉

Thank you @dayleeo!
I will look at it ;)

Np enjoy ;)

I have the consumerism problem when it comes to electronics... If I had money, I think I would have any Chinese tablet an smartphone, and all the headphones available... Even if I don't need them, I feel the impulse of buying them for some reason... probably because they are so cheap...damn stupid brain..

At least electronics has some value in my opinion. Compare to getting branded tshirt for USD 100 versus random tshirt for USD 1 - not much of a difference there...

Thanks for sharing @sosky
Regarding the electronics, I usually just find a device with the most performance at that time and buy it, for example I have 4 years old laptop and cell phone... I need to renew, but it's both still working pretty well ;) No need to have the most recent Apple or Samsung products, it's just waste of money.. :P
If you like my post, please follow. ;) I followed you as well..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Suzzane from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63775.42
ETH 3493.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53