First Uber Experience as a Driver

in #life7 years ago (edited)

car.jpg

I decided to sign up with Uber and drive on my days off.

Yesterday was my first day.

I drove into town at about 5:20pm, parked, and got all set up with new bluetooth earpiece and magnetic phone mount.

I logged into my account and eagerly awaited my first ride request.

10 minutes later I decided to plug my device in for charging. While I was plugging it in, an alert sounded in my earpiece and it took me a moment to realize that it didn't have anything to do with the charger. It was ride request!

The request was from 8km away and a rider with a 4.7 rating. While I was thinking about accepting the ride, the request stopped. I took too long.

The second request came another 10 minutes later. From 22km aways! I quickly rejected the request.

I started to look through the app and noticed my acceptance rating was 0%. Oh, oh! I had better accept the next request.

Pizza was not far away, and I haven't eaten Pizza in months. Pizza!

I drove to the Pizza place with the Uber app still on. No pings. I turned the app off and got some pizza and then had a social phone chat.

When I turned the app back on, I told myself I'd give it 10 minutes before shutting down and driving home. It was 7:10pm.

PING a ride request!

18km south. I accepted. Got there by 7:30pm. First Uber drive and my acceptance rating was at 33% (that is pretty bad, considering Uber perfers an acceptance rating of over 80%).

3 passengers with strong body odour got into my car. They turned the radio up loud. Then asked to use my USB port so they could listen to their music. Unfortunately I didn't have a cable for IPhone. I secretly wondered if they would rate me lower.

They asked me if they could use my Bluetooth, wanting to listen to their music.

"Sure" I heard myself reply, secretly hoping it wouldn't interupt my navigation by earpiece. It didn't work out and we all ended up listening to my favorite 80's radio station.

It was a fairly long run that paid about $30. When they got out of my car I immediately turned the volume down, and opened all windows to air out. LOL

I started driving in the direction 'home'; an hour away. Got home at 9pm and went to bed.

I AM a part-time Uber driver!

Sort:  

Yikes! Welcome to the Uber Platform. I'm a rider and have been using both services (Lyft and Uber) for the last 2.5 years. I would never ask to plug in my own phone to listen to music or Bluetooth. I think some people are really bold with their request. Normal request are usually cable for charging if you have a port in the back or a cable long enough with an adapter. Be careful when you reject rides, that does count against you.

Hi @wthomas
I'm glad to read your comment because it is my day off and I will drive for Uber for the second time today.
Many driver's tell me it can become additive.
It is too bad I didnt know about rejecting rides earlier.
Wishing you only safe trips in the future!

It can be an exciting job and you'll meet lots of interesting people. I think the app is now so much better now that tipping has been included as an option for the passenger. Best of luck again.

This post is being REBOAT, I HOPE my resteem helps.. The boat is sailing🚣

Welcome to the part time Uber club...if you have any questions, im available to answer :). Been driving part time for over a year now..

Cheers!

Hello and thanks for the offer!
Nice to meet a fellow part time Uber driver. I'll follow you.

i do smiling. i wonder how would you feel when the pasanger get in and a far driving. you must be laughing when you get back home.

you will have a plenty of idea for writing in the days ahead.

Haha! Yes - perhaps I can brand myself here on Steemit as an Uber driver!
Thank you ekavieka for yoir comment.

This post has received a 1.23 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @susieisms.

This Post have been checked...manually

When #whalepower Tag Applies

@bullionstackers - #whalepower Curator/ Moderator

Wow I am happy for you being a part time Uber taxi chauffeur . Quite rewarding too.
Be ready for a lot of smells in the future :)

Thank you. When ever I have a good story, I'll post it on Steemit. :)

I actually think this is a funny post. Maybe I am too easy to laugh at myself! If you read this post and got a chuckle, let me know . . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65