I Just Started My Own Social Media Company - Thank you, Steemit

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I'm a very spontaneous person. On Wednesday I decided to start my own company and to tell my old company in Norway that I'm not coming back. I left my Norwegian job in May this year. They were kind enough to offer me the possibility to come back next summer. It has truly been a very valuable place to work. They gave me a lot of responsibility that helped me grow. But I've tasted the freedom now and there's really no turning back. 

Steemit has helped me take some time off and that has resulted in a lot of creative thinking. So - I wan't to thank all my followers! I love you guys. Steemit is such an awesome community.


@joshstinton was going to some meetings at Macquaire Univeristy. I joined him to get a few hours of work done. It's not the worst office I've had.

Picking a name for the company was not easy. I've been thinking about what to call myself when I work with social media. Social media consultant? No, that word is too long.

All of a sudden it hit me. A comedian does comedy. A SoMedian does SoMe. 

For this reason, my company is called SoMedian. And I'm a stand-up SoMedian. 

You can visit my Facebook page here and my website here.
(It's all under construction, as I started the company two days ago. And the logo is in the making and will be ready soon.) 


The view from the university! This was a great place to use as an office. They had bars, restaurants, music, lounge areas and great WIFI.

I'm excited to see what the future holds and I have a lot of learning to do. Especially when it comes to paying tax in two countries at the same time. Ha ha!

Have you started your own company? What's your best advice?

Susanne

Sort:  

excellent news.

what does your company do?

That's a good reason to smile today and today is is World Smile Day. You might win $5sd here with that reason
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/happy-world-smile-day

I do social media for small businesses :)

oh cool so like marketing online. Good you can live anywhere and do that. nice.


A little humor on this momentous occasion.
(very little)

I have started only two companies, one sold in 2006 and one currently going. I offer no advice as each business is unique and will have a different life. It can be all consuming in both positive and negative ways. But just realize you have stepped beyond what most could or would... Bravo for you, all the best.

Hi @kyusho! That's impressive. You are right about every business being unique. I'm very energetic and I can never sit still. I'm constantly working on something, so why not make that something my own company :)
Thanks!! I appreciate your feedback.

good luck! ;)

Thank you so much, @pickoum!

Good luck, but statistically speaking Median lands somewhere in the middle. 😉 But seriously, good luck!

Ha ha, yes, I know what median means :p Haha, thank you so much!

Cool, I like the name!

Hello again! :) Thank you, I'm so glad you liked it.

All the best!

Thank you so much @team101!

Great job Susanne, I too will soon follow suit. peace and prosperity

Congratulations! Would enjoy reading more about this experience you are starting on.

I closed my business as soon as I started. It was 4 years ago. I think I wasn't ready to open my own business. I might only have my enthusiasm. What does your company do? Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79