You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update and News

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Good to hear that you are making progress, both physically and emotionally. Concussions are very serious and some take up to a full year to recover from. My youngest boy suffered a severe one back in early May of 17 and he is just now back to his normal self. It was very frustrating for him and us to see him struggle like he was.
Look forward to hearing your new opportunities.

Sort:  

Concussions are scary. Sometimes I'm so frustrated because I know this isn't me-i know I'm not operating and thinking normal. But some other times... Others notice something I'm saying or doing or acting different but to me it's just normal me. I don't know the difference because it feels normal, even tho it wasn't my normal a month ago- if that makes sense. That's what's scary as hell.

Our son had real issues with his short term memory, it was really scary for a good 7 months, he would say he was going to get drink and then walk to the kitchen and couldn't remember what he went in there for, things like that. He would also do like you are saying, he would do things that seemed off the wall, one thing that did come from it that is very interesting that he never did before is he started just cutting up paper with scissors and then started doing oragami, he's gotten pretty good at it too. I think that was a direct result of the concussion, maybe from boredom of not being able to do anything else because he couldn't go on electronic devices for about four months because it would trigger real bad head aches ,

Oh my goodness, I have the same problem with my short term memory. It is quite scary because even though you know it will get better and return to normal in time, what if? I keep having to push those scary thoughts away. It's a real struggle remembering things you were just thinking or doing mere seconds ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69