"I don't care"

in #life6 years ago

z1.jpg

I do have a problem with this "I don't care" issue.
I feel like in one end of the spectrum it means to be neutral or have no preference when a choice is presented.
But on the other end it can sound really rude and dismissive and passive-aggressive depending on the tone of how you say it.

For example:

"Hey Starbucks has two limited kinds of drinks this week, what do you want? My treat."

"hmmm . . . I don't care" - because I really don't care which of the two flavors I get. I like both and I have no preference. Also, you're paying for me. "I don't care" I just want to zip some coffee right now!

On the other hand.

"Hey! I have free ticket for avengers infinity war!"

"I don't really care" - whaatttt?! You don't care about MCU?! tsssssssss

In this situation, they're showing indifference of the topic the facts that i have presented does not concerned them and they do not give a single damn about the movie.

But the intention of the phrase isn't always as clear in any situation that you use it in and I've become super aware of when I say it because I hate portraying the wrong tone when I speak.

Here's a another situation:

"Hey babe. Which one do you think looks better on me?"

"hmmm . . . I don't care"

"You don't care how I look?"

"No, I mean I don't care, like I don't have a preference on which shirt you pick"

"fine... I wont ask for opinion anymore"

"Waittt what? Come on!"

"Why do I even bring you shopping with me? You don't care what I wear? Maybe I'll just not wear . . ANYTHING!"

"NO! no! I don't care because they both look good on you"

"You know what??!!" *throws the shirt she was currently wearing on

HAHAHA that's not what really happened.

Thanks for dropping by guys ! Dont forget to upvote!

Sort:  

Greetings, stewpeed! Best wishes for make many new friends here in this fun-loving community :) All the Best

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Congratulations @stewpeed! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53