You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: B̲e̲i̲n̲g̲ ̲S̲i̲n̲g̲l̲e̲ ̲I̲s̲ ̲W̲a̲y̲ ̲B̲e̲t̲t̲e̲r̲ ̲T̲h̲a̲n̲ ̲B̲e̲i̲n̲g̲ ̲I̲n̲ ̲A̲ ̲R̲e̲l̲a̲t̲i̲o̲n̲s̲h̲i̲p̲

in #life7 years ago

I have been married for 21 years. I was super young when I got married....so young, I tell people I was a child bride, because I practically was. I was old enough to get married without my parents' permission, but too young to really know what I was doing. I now firmly believe no one should even consider marriage until they are at least 25 years old. You just don't know what you want before then, unless you are one of the lucky few who know seemingly from birth. The first 12 years of the marriage were relatively happy, but I would have divorced him years ago if it were financially feasible for either of us. We BOTH believe marriage is for suckers now, and call it a government trap to get you into the "traditional" family that society is already starting to move past. If I am ever lucky enough to be single again one day, I say "Never again" to marriage (and I'm pretty sure my husband feels the same way).

One good thing, though....we've always had our own rooms, from the time we first moved in together. It was his idea, as he's older than me by a significant number of years, and had been in several serious relationships before, and knew having our own rooms was the way to go. I thought it was weird at first, but I quickly fell in love with it, and wouldn't have it any other way. Separate bedrooms, separate beds....that's the civilized way to live with a mate. :)

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for sharing your marriage experience, Steph. Actually, I'm only 18 LOL. I guess I won't marry in the near future. I'm single :)

I was 22 when I got married, not even quite a year after graduating college. WAY too young. Lol! Enjoy being single. It's the best. One of my good childhood friends just got married for the first time two years ago and I (and her other married friends) warned her not to do it. Her grandmother even told her it wouldn't add anything to her happiness to get married after being independent for so long. But, she thought she would be missing out on something if she didn't get married, and now she's miserable. She understands what we were all warning her about, but she can't leave him yet because they have a 7 month old baby together (first child for both of them), and she gave up her career to be a wife and mom. Marriage--Don't Do It (that's my marriage slogan, lol!).

Phhh what a slogan, you killed me from laughter!!
Is it really that bad????

Lol! Worse. I would NEVER do it again, unless I was lucky enough to meet my soul mate. Most people do not meet their soul mates. I've seen a few, and they are very happy after even decades of marriage, but most people I know, including me, wonder why we ever thought getting married was a good idea. :)

Good to know. You sound like a super cool woman, Steph!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31