Another tough break in life. This one better be the last!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

As some may know, this year has been pretty rough for me. Steemit has helped me work through a lot of this by writing some personal posts, while also focusing on jokes and drumming to keep my spirits up.

I'm writing this here to get my thoughts out for my own "therapy".

For those who don't know:

  1. My Dad died of brain cancer in February, but not before becoming very verbally and emotionally abusive towards me, essentially disowning me as a son. It stemmed from his own childhood issues, but I never got an apology and will never have proper resolution. The worst part was that radiation damage caused him (we hope) to forget the terrible things he said to me, which made closure impossible. This post talking about how Steemit helped me then is a good read.
  2. Last month, my Mom was crushed while driving in her car when a massive tree fell directly through her windshield during a tornado, hitting her in the face and chest, surviving only through some form of supernatural miracle. She spent almost 3 high-pressure weeks in the intensive care unit with high-risk injuries and a blood infection, with me managing a good portion of her care/communication. She's now in a rehab center and doing great with a month or so before she can amazingly go home in her neck/back brace to make a full recovery. It doesn't make sense, but it doesn't have to.
  3. And now... just when I thought life could get back to normal, I just found out on Sunday that my cat has advanced intestinal cancer that's spread, and a fading heart. As if that wasn't bad, the stress from the vet visit seems to have caused a blood clot preventing blood flow to his rear legs, so he can no longer use them. This is a code red issue. The vet told me he has 24-48 hours, but I should consider putting him down sooner to play it safe. I have no idea what I did to deserve this one.

Spike has helped me so much when times got tough. Living alone never felt that way because he was always there. I grew up with a lot of animals, so they've always been important to me. No, I'm not a crazy cat lady guy. Like for many, animals are simply an important piece of my life. Spike is especially meaningful because I raised him since a small kitten and he's been with me through all of the thick and thin I've been through. Sure, he was a pain in the ass sometimes, and liked using his claws, but...

While Spike doesn't seem to be in obvious pain now, he's not in good shape. Recent experience helping with my Dad's home hospice has prepared me to know what winding down looks and feels like. Regardless, it's hard to watch him helpless and sad, while being forced to keep anticipating the end. I've never gone through this by myself, so facing it alone while I was just resurfacing from the other major life challenges really SUCKS.

What gets to me the most is missing his cancer all along. While I was naively happy that our family no longer had cancer to worry about, my cat had it right under my nose, potentially for months. Given the nature of what he has, catching it early really wouldn't have changed his prognosis, but I feel like I let him down to be so distracted with other things. Was I that blind? I thought some of the signs were from normal aging or just his quirks. He was always happy, hungry, drank water, and active until just a few days ago. Damn...

I guess bad things really do happen in threes, but I think I can now say that I've checked those boxes to be done with them.

Anyway, I needed to do something to keep busy while he lays in my lap now, seeking comfort in the way he's given it to me over time. Even though he's fading, he still perks up for his freeze-dried chicken treats. He can have as many as he wants now. It's the least I can do.

I never took a million pictures or videos of him, or made his own Instagram page. I just enjoyed his company and treated him well. I hate knowing that his life will be cut short by cancer, but there's nothing I can do now. The only bright sides are that I could be with him now, and my clothes will be cat-hair-free for the first time in about 13 years.

Here he is a little while back before he got sick, enjoying himself per usual in one of my shipping boxes.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Again, I wish there was something I could do to fix this or that I had more time. Reality says otherwise. I'm done with losing stuff. Let's hope that life can only get better from here.

Thanks for reading.

RIP Spike 6/13/18 :(

Sort:  

would totally feel the same way if my buddy was not well.... now i feel kinda guilty, i snapped at buddy today for yapping too much at the neighbor's cat

thanks for sharing sexymatty 😘

Buddy was probably just trying to get some. Can't blame him. You can make it up to him with some extra treats and a dropbox of new toys.

buddy is a dog, but maybe inter-species mix is becoming thing now

Hey Matt, sorry a bit late to read your post. I'm not a pet person but I got teary reading this. I really feel your heart with all that you're going through,esp. the latest with your cat. I do hope things get better for you. Hang in there.

All I can do is send you and your Mum my kindest regards and best wishes mate.Nothing I can say can make you feel better but places like Steemit are great places to get shit off your chest. Feel whatever emotions you feel, accept them and in your own time move on at your own pace.
Take it easy fella

Thanks very much for taking the time to read and respond.

So sorry about all the bumps in your road bud. It happens to all of us. Hopefully the Universe is done throwing curve balls your way.

I need to go on a hike and find a bunch of rare stones to retire with. Can you help?

Uh yeah actually I can. It would be sweet. So Lake Superior has a lot of lake shore properties. There's a few not too far from here that I've had my eyes on for when I'm crypto rich. Like 10-40 acre lots on the lake. Wake up, get your hiking stuff on and step from your deck to the sand. Oh the possibilities.... did you know it's the best lake in the world? We could be neighbors. If you become rich before me and buy the land, I'm camping on it please. No worries, I'll build a thatch hut. I've built many on ARK: Survival Evolved so I have experience.

I'm almost crying over here.. I'm so sorry yet again, Matt.

Please try to not blame yourself. Remember he's had a great life in your care, better than most cats in the world in fact. There's just no way of knowing these things in advance.

Oh no... I agree this one was a little sappy, but was my mood at the time. Thanks for reading as always and sending your thoughts.

Oh Matt.... You are a nice guy why all these happen to you?
My thoughts are with you buddy!

Thank you very much. As a plus, I won't be sneezing from cat hair and tripping on him when I eventually get the fitness challenge up and running again.

Losing a cat like that is rough, I had that happen to a cat we had when I was in high school, but it was limping home outside dragging it's legs. :(
Dodged vet bills though since I lived in the country.

Ive heard some motivating speakers say to Try to stay positive and list all the good things happening. (Easy to say on this side of the fence), but negative things build on negative things, and posivity will build on itself as well.

Thanks man. At this point, it could've been a goldfish and I'd still be looking up and wondering why this crap keeps happening. My vet bills weren't small, but nothing close to what they could've been if I was stubborn to try to pursue all of the treatment options despite their minimal success.

Sorry Matt. You are the coolest person I've met on here.

Well that's a nice thing to say. You have 3 more days to change your mind or else that's going to be locked on the blockchain and printed out for framing.

Cool...refering to your hunt and gather occupation, your drumming, your baseball playing... and the bribes help....

Noooo the news from the vet ended being worse than you could have even imagined. I cannot believe how many horrific things keep happening in your life this last year. I'm not sure what else to say except that I am so sorry that all of this is happening to you.

Thanks for your comment and spam shield below. Can always count on you!

Matt - so sorry bro to hear about this. You have gone thru a lot. Your beautiful cat will soon pass, but you continue. Keep doing the best you can do and live your life to its fullest.

Thanks as always. You'll have to teach me how to astrally project to reconnect with him when he takes a break from chasing mice and eating people food up in the clouds.

You cat is probably in cat heaven. Don't astral project. Rather go inwards - come back onto your higher Self and experience true, unbounded happiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63390.92
ETH 3093.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82