One Year Social Media Free - Forever To Come

in #life5 years ago

“An open Facebook page is simply a psychiatric dry erase board that screams, “Look at me. I am insecure. I need your reaction to what I am doing, but you’re not cool enough to be my friend. Therefore, I will just pray you see this because the approval of God is not all I need.”
― Shannon L. Alder

69410051_939167356434588_4013250392371494912_n.jpg

Almost a year and a half ago, I called it quits on Instagram. A year ago, I broke ties from Facebook. Right then and there, i knew that my divorce from social media was going to be Final with a capital F. Because truth be told, for most people, such use takes away a shit ton of time, energy, focus, and clarity they’ll never get back. All things in moderation does not apply to our kind of society.

We may secretly fantasize on having better control over our impulses, but the fact remains that without discipline, that enticing thought remains out of reach. Stepping away from social media was one of the smartest move I’ve done. Curiously enough, it was also an easy one. It never made sense anyway in my eyes to waste time on applications that breathe superficiality and add no value to my existence.

If everyone spent the amount of time they do on social media to invest into bettering their mind, heart, and soul, perhaps the world would be a healthier, much improved, and lovelier one. But as of now, maybe we ought to keep on scrolling our loneliness away.

Gaining clarity is hard to do - if not impossible - when you’re stuck in the realm of social media. The virtual world is designed to keep its users hungry for more. Entertainment is the norm. Boredom is condemned. External validation is the master, and we’re its puppets. Sadly, people are suckers for any bits of approval and recognition they can get. So long as it hits the sweet dopamine spot.

Real life happens outside of your device. Authentic connections are made when no phones are involved. Social media has nothing to offer but an endless stream of meaningless distractions. Temptation is always one fingertip away, and that’s why willpower gets thrown down the window. It’s so easy to give in to something that has the capacity to take away/numb/cover our unpleasant feelings.

4768618-Sharon-Salzberg-Quote-Meditation-is-the-ultimate-mobile-device-you.jpg

Sort:  

"Real life happens outside of your device. Authentic connections are made when no phones are involved. Social media has nothing to offer but an endless stream of meaningless distractions." Couldn't agree more. Congrats on being one year social media free.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey beautiful :-) Thank you so much for your sweet words.
Happy to see you back on here 💜

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @enginewitty on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Way to crack that dopamine cycle!

I have more than two years since I quit facebook and instagram. I still use twitter though, but the two social media garbage platforms mentioned above will never see me active again. Deleted both my accounts.

“The two social media garbage platforms mentioned above will never see me active again.” Can I like this a thousand times?😍 You said it all!

I actually reduced my activity on social media because I realized it was adding nothing to me, I was rather watching videos and pictures of celebrities who make money and more money from it while I watch, especially Instagram.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76