Does Death Scare You? #MeditateWithSabAndAllanWatts

in #life6 years ago

''Don't worry, when it comes you won't be there.
When you are there it won't come.''

29340105_283334048867286_4845082607240609792_n.png

A couple of years ago,
I was on a date with a guy and everything was going super duper well. (I could tell he genuinely liked me hehe.)
At one point during our non-stop-fluent-crazy-exciting-conversation (you know the typical excitment of getting to know someone new), I started to talk about Allan Watts.
He gave me THE look and said: ''Did you just drop the Watts'' ?
I will never forget.
He told all of his friends this little 18 years old was worth the shot because she knew Allan Watts!!!
He then kept on going with ''Girl, you got it all!''
I'm being humoristic over here, but fast forward today and it's now more than ever how much I realize how truly fascinating is Allan Watts.

4662a3d13f64c39a8921682873aa5c97--alan-watts-universe.jpg

WHO IS ALLAN WATTS?

Allan Watts is a philosopher from the 1900's, but most of all, he's a gift to the world and one of the greatest spiritual teachers of all time.
He has a way with words, and will make you see the world in a completely different way than how we have been taught to see it, if you allow him to take you on this incredibly empowering visual journey.
His deep understanding of life changed mine.

I medidate every single morning for at least 30 minutes listening to his guided meditations.

Here is one of his videos called -How to play the game.
You can't be indifferent after watching this, I promise.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=249&v=B6wz2gkHE4Q

On to serious business, today I wanted to talk about death as I believe it is an universal fear that haunts most human beings on earth.
Yet, we try not to think or talk about it for too long, because for most of us, it creates this sense of panic and nothing can appear to make death looks more comforting, as we have no control over how or when it will happen.
The fear of the unknown gets the best of us like never before.
However, no matter how old, kind, successful, handsome we can be, we are all part of the cycle of life, and we are all going to the same final destination which is death.

The main reason I mentionned Allan Watts today is because since he has been a part of my life journey, he has changed my outlook on life and made my fear of death at rest.

Let's take a minute to admire how much wisdom can come out of one human being. 32f66a4d8c9f0ef1d6f9e6e7e5f4b27b.jpg

The modern world of today has been giving us the idea that death is a taboo subject that is seen as something terrible, and that any discussion around the topic should be avoided at all cost.
I love Allan Watts because he gives a new approach on the meaning of life and death, as they are the two sides of one coin.
Without one, the other cannot exist.
Without death, there would be no life.
Just like without life, there would be no death.

The reason most of us fear death is because we are attached to our ego as we have been taught that our ''self'' is separate from the universe.
Allan Watts claims it is an hallucination that has been brought up to us by the western culture.

I believe that not being entitled to our ego is a spiritual journey that can lead to transform the purpose of human existence.

Everything that happens in our lives becomes irrelevant once we die, in the same way that everything that happens during a dream becomes irrelevant once the dream ends and we wake up.
What if this life is a dream and when we die we wake up?

Yesterday I asked a friend of mine I really look up to (that loves life) if he feared death.
To my big surprise, he said he didn't.
And one specific sentence he said to me blew me away:

''There's nothing to fear. It's part of the process.
This life is just a level in a game of infinite levels''.

Part of the reason I was in such shock to his response is because he mentionned the term ''game'' which is exactly how Allan Watts refers to when he talks about life.

Simple coincidence?

Are you ready to connect with your higher self?

Thank you so much for taking your time to read me!
Let me know what you guys think down below!
Let's keep the conversation going!

-Sab
xoxo

Sort:  

I love Allan Watts. He was so transcendent of an individual. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today. You're always an inspiration @steemityourway!

Awwww @freeinthought !!!
Your words brighten up my day so much!
I missed you!
I’m so glad you know him and feel the same way🌟🤩
Thank you so much!!!💜💫

awww, love Alan Watts!!! He's so harsh and full of universal truth at the same time!!! Have you tried meditations by Deepak Chopra?

Awwww so glad to hear that!!!:) So true!:)
No I have never heard of Deepak Chopra.
What is it exactly?
Love that you're into meditation as well!!:)

I love your post, because I am always in search of the truth, I do not fear death, and I have lost my main pillars like my parents, grandparents, couple, I do not say that it does not hurt, but I feel that they have fulfilled their mission, and they go to another higher plane, I have raised my daughters with the thought that death is something natural, like dying the old ones first, it causes me a lot of pain when they are unexpected deaths, even so I keep going, and I like those words "No te worry, when you arrive you will not be there, when you are there, it will not come "@steemityourway

Thank you so much for opening up and sharing with me a precious piece of your story. It means a lot.
I admire your strength and courage and I am terribly sorry to hear that.
You embrace the true meaning of never giving up.💫
Bless you xxxx

yes obviously... cz life is really beautiful... when you heard the sound of death inside your heart you will always want to live your life.

I think a life without chocolate would be a fate worse than death, thats waht i'm more afraid of

Haha oh chocolate is the best isn’t!! 🙊🤩 I feel ya!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thanks again🤩🤩🤩

I don’t fear death , I fear the pain I would
Cause my family. I fear what would happen to my small children. I fear how my already depressed mother would handle it. I fear my death would be difficult on the ones I love , not on me. Everyone else would mourn my death and move on , but my mother and children would suffer.

I’m terribly sorry to hear how you feel, however I completely understand.
Losing someone close to us is the most painful tragedy that can happen.
I believe that every human being on earth has something special to bring to this journey called life.

Thank you for stopping by.
I didn’t forget you because your Steemit name touched me. 😔💜

Sending love your way -xxxxx-

Thank you . Hoping that since I lost the one person I confided in, my real true love , that blogging to strangers will help me get thru these emotions and figure out what I bring to this journey called life . ❤️

Wow I'm terribly sorry to hear that.
May I ask if it was your spouse?
I sincerely wish you nothing but the very best.
I find that writing and journaling is very healing and therapeutic.
And knowing that other humans out there are experiencing similar types of suffering makes it somewhat less worse.

I am with you in this.
Sending so much strenght and love your way.

i am no longer with my husband. Unfortunately, we were very unhappy together for years. I fell in love with my best friend, and I really think it was true love. Other issues that are out of my control, led to me losing him. The more I think about it , the more I think , maybe it wasn’t true love for him like it was for me. Maybe it was all just an illusion to me. Who knows? All I know is I have to take it one day at a time and see where the chips fall.

I’m terribly sorry to hear that.
Divorce and heartbreak are such difficult trials to go through.
Love is very difficult.
I’ve actually always been fascinated by relationships and marriages and I started reading a book called “Hold me tight - seven conversations for a lifetime of love.” By Dr Sue Johnson which is one of the best couple therapists. She uses the Emotionally Focused Couple Therapy which has a 75% success rate compared to 35% with other forms of couple therapy. But despite that, this book gave me a new insight on relationships, it’s really a pearl of wisdom! If you’re into reading, I really recommend it to you🌟💗

My thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time of your life.💗🌟

Thank you for the thoughts and prayers. The problem is no one wants to work on repairing the relationship anymore .

It is my pleasure. I thank you for opening up on such a difficult experience.❤️
I could not agree more with you.
There’s not a day that goes by that I’m not saddened by what our society has come to.
It’s always easier to leave than to fight to reconnect and repair the love.
While I know there’s always exceptions and cases where divorce is the only option, I believe that living in the digital age we are in makes it worse because people want a quick fix for everything. Instant gratification. But love doesn’t work like that. It’s hard work. It’s pain and sacrifice.
Your strength inspires me❤️
So grateful you share this with me.

You have been doing some deep thinking! I guess that is the silver lining of the problems you have been through in your life.

I don't fear death. I have experienced it too many times :-)
(an ayahuasca ceremony is like going through the death experience)

Most spiritual traditions have an admonition about "dieing before you die" or making death your companion or teacher, or dieing and being born again of water and spirit, or some similar concept.

Anyway, interesting topic. Thanks for bringing it up,

Hey Hey!
Thank you so much!
Yes I’m on the journey of illumination as Eckhart Tolle would say😎

Wow I’m curious to know what you mean by “experiencing it too many times”.
I hope it’s not as bad as it sounds😔😳

That’s so interesting!
Thank you!🌟🤩

I maintain that I'm not afraid of death - but dying sounds uncomfortable.
 

Haha what’s this Viking visual picture all about!?😎😆 but yes for sure I understand your perspective!!

It's just my "calling card", so to speak. :)

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86