You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100% upvote giveaway: tell me a story!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So I have had bad asthma my entire life. Here is a story about the one time it actually helped me.

When I was a child in elementary school they held a run-a-thon at my school to raise money for something (cant remember what for) and the top earners won prizes. We were suppose to go out and get sponsors for the event from friends and family and businesses. The sponsors would pledge a certain amount of money for each lap you could run in a hour, like 25 cents/per lap, 1$/lap ect. Anyways the school decided that the disabled/sick kids should get to participate but many couldn't run as far so they made a MUCH shorter course for us. Now I got put with this group due to my Asthma but as long as I had my inhaler with me I was good to go and could run faster and further then most of my classmates at the time. The race-a-thon starts and I crush it. I ended up with like 20 more laps than anyone else and my donors ended up having to pay a bunch of money. I won a prize and the money went to a good cause (I am assuming) I felt a little guilty but its was the school s bad since I had told them I could run fine.

Sort:  

Sounds like you did the right thing; their bureaucracy made the race less fun for the other sick/disabled kids. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49