Hi Steemers! I have a small business making unique and interesting tables, what do you think? :)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

I just thought I would share some of my work with the Steemit community. Seem to be quite the artistic bunch here!

They have proven very popular! I have been working in restoration for about 15 years on and off.

I use various timbers yet the English Yew has proven most popular. The colour is a combination of special high quality resins. The resin is very expensive and the glass like finish is very difficult to get right! It's a very messy process and whatever the resin touches, it dosen't come off - Messy business! After a lot of years practice they look something like this.

IMG_E0161.JPG

IMG_E0166.JPG

IMG_E0169.JPG

This one above was one of the most popular to date! Had a lot of requests to make more of them the same! I try to explain to people that every piece is unique in that it is down to the piece of timber that I choose and no two pieces are the same!

IMG_E0953.JPG
IMG_E0955.JPGIMG_E0965.JPGIMG_E0966.JPG

This one was one of my personal favorites to date, reminds me of a topographical map!

IMG_E0986.JPG

Something a bit different here.

IMG_1058.JPG

This one above is the beginning of a project - to make a dining room sized table. This really was a tough one to get right! A lot of work in this! About 3 weeks from start to finish. It's a large dining room table. One mistake in the top finishing coats and it costs about $250 to attempt to put right - that can go on and on! Many factors in pouring resin perfectly or it shrinks and takes a LOT of work an money to correct! Not for the faint of heart ;)

IMG_1203.JPG

IMG_1357.JPG

IMG_1365.JPG

IMG_1358.JPG

IMG_1360.JPG

IMG_E1478.JPG

IMG_E1476.JPG

Another piece I finished recently.

I could just keep posting and posting! I have hundreds of photos of various projects I've finished. I actually send most of my pieces to the USA from the UK. They are really popular in California and Miami at the moment.

I'll post more projects past, present and future. If you care to follow me I'll check out what you are doing also! :)

You can check out more of my work here @

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/InfinityDesignGifts?ref=search_shop_redirect

I hope you enjoyed my post friends. With thanks!

Sort:  

I see small business and I upvote.

Thanks Phil! Very kind my friend. Following you already :) Been upvoting your posts Cheers Phil

these live edge/resin infused tables are some of my favorite pieces from the depths of the internet. Id love to see some kind of chair or bench idea come together using this technique!

May I ask, how are the fumes from dealing with this resin stuff? Do you need a workshop or ventilated area to work with the material?

Hi there, thanks for the comment! I don't make chairs although I get so many requests as the amount of work in making a custom set and the price would be too much for people to be interested for the most part - thousands !

The fumes with epoxies are no where near as bad as polyesters, although you have to be careful as mixing the epoxy causes a strong chemical reaction and it produces a lot of heat. It can actually self ignite and you can get fire before it has set.

Need a workshop yes indeed. Could do small projects without but the mess is high! Whatever epoxy sticks/drips and sets on is history haha :) I use a high power hammer drill to remove it from concrete - then it breaks the concrete before the epoxy usually!

Hi there! Your works look really nice :) Hope you'll enjoy steemit.
I'm also new in here. If you want to know me you can read something here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@aganieha/hello-everyone

Thank you for the kind words! I'll be sure to check out your profile! Thanks again! Feel free to follow me and I will update projects past and future :) thanks!

Welcome @stackz! Your tables look really cool! I bought a resin kit at Menards for my bar top in my basement and it turned out pretty well. But not as cool as your table tops. I follow another wood worker whose work you might enjoy, @jerryt.

Best of luck here on your Steem journey!

Hey @intothewild ! Thanks for the comment and upvote my friend! Oh awesome, I'd love to see your bar top! Yeah it's harder than the 'youtube' vids make it look :) Often the youtube vids make it seem really easy and then sell you a big load of epoxy at the end of the vid (certainly the ones I've seen). How did the top coat come out in with your bar top? I'll be sure to check your lead out. Thanks again :) Regards! ps if you need any tips for bar top or future projects hit me up and I'll give you some top tips where I can help you out.

Stunning work my friend

Thanks very much :) appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92