Whales. What are they? Where do they come from? How do they taste?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So, funny thing, in the world of craft beer (or rather, in the super small arena of true craft beer nerds), there is use of certain nomenclature that has similarity to a term used here on Steemit: whales.

B2E6C7B4-DA35-4CCF-B338-C1303E10447F-1047-000000BB8AA303F0.jpeg

Now, I'm incredibly new to Steemit, at least in my use of it. I've actually known about it for a while because of a friend of mine @giftedgaia. He has been raving about it for, oh I don't know, the last 6 months or so, and his fervor has ramped up with each passing day.
Anyway, last night I was reading through trending topics, and came across an article about Whales on Steemit. I'm familiar with the term because of @giftedgaia, and I stopped to read it because I'm a newb to Steemit and why not. I've heard how whales don't interact with minnows and so forth and it sounded interesting. Long story short, this article basically said (and I'm paraphrasing), that minnows shouldn't just randomly approach whales, and definitely shouldn't blindly ask for F4F, and you have to pay your dues, yada, yada...
It was an interesting read, and while I didn't agree with all of it (everyone starts out as a minnow, so a whale should never forget that), I thought it had an interesting relation to craft beer.
In the world of craft beer, the term whale is used in reference to actual beers. There are even beers called White Whales, in a nod to 'ol Mr. Dick. Whales are beers that are incredibly rare, very high in quality, and typically low in number, which therefore makes them relatively expensive and highly coveted. I think you may see where I'm going with this...
52D45D38-B716-4BBB-A1FA-BA58B71F4430-1047-000000BE3BA00CCB.jpeg

If you want to drink a whale, you're going to have to pay your dues. In the craft beer culture, you generally start by drinking beers off the shelf at your local liquor store. Then maybe you go to some limited releases at breweries in your area, from there you meet some people that have come from other areas and you start trading beer you can get for beer you can't get. Eventually you go to enough releases and share enough beers with the right people, that you get to drink a whale.
And now we've come full circle to Steemit. If you bide your time, upvote the right people, generate interesting content, and share your experiences, eventually you'll meet and befriend a whale.
Here's to hoping I meet a whale sooner rather than later.
And if not, I can always just go grab one to drink out of my cellar...
IMG_8544.JPG

Sort:  

whale said!
:-)
enjoy your evening, and keep catching whales ,both kinds!
namaste!

I sea what you did there!

We like the part about the Beer!

Having made your acquaintance and knowing a little about you, I LOVE that you have managed to find a way to relate this to something in your life that is important to you! Way to go!

Thank you! I thought it was kind of interesting and figured someone else might feel the same. Cheers!

Enjoyed reading your post sssence! I never knew about the relation between whales and brew. I actually got a whale to follow me after my first two weeks so I definitely got lucky haha I'm not a whale, but every upvote matters!

Upvoted for the title alone. (the article was good, but the title was worth a vote.

Nice Analogy @sssence, really nice.. great post

Now, that's a beer bottle collection!

I want to drink whale. Sounds expensive.

Nice Post. Whale on!

Check out my post to learn how to memorize the ten biggest whales:

https://steemit.com/education/@flauwy/how-to-memorize-the-top-ten-whales-the-actual-whales-not-steemit-users

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82