You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

in #life6 years ago

It's an amazing decision and you're right to make it! CEO's, cultures in companies... They can really mess with our health. Our life is too short to not live it - these plans make me smile, you'll have a great time and will feel energized, I'm sure of it. ENJOY!

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by @soyrosa! Nice to "see" you.

"CEO's, cultures in companies... They can really mess with our health."

Yes they can. I really should have left long before now. I've prided myself on my work ethic, etc. so it caused me to "hang in" long after all the indicators I needed were in place to say, "Time to go!"

A big issue is there is one particular work associate who will be left in a bind. Part of the reason for "hanging in" and hoping against hope for a change. But ... As you say, in the end our health has to be priority one. That is my primary motivator now, at this stage of my life.

"... you'll have a great time and will feel energized, I'm sure of it. ENJOY!"

Yes, thank you. As I say here, while not a young man any more, I think I can still reclaim a lot of my old vitality. Once back home from this "big adventure," we'll see from there what the future holds.

Thanks again for stopping by! 👍

Yes, we tend to stay for the people, right? You don't want to make life harder on someone else. But then, in the end, you have to anyway - now, because you made this decision, or later, because you got a burn-out - doesn't help anyone.

You're not a young man maybe, but certainly you will live more the coming months than most others do at your age - most are waiting for someone else to tell them it's okay to stop and relax ;-)

Thank you for the words of encouragement @soyrosa.

"Yes, we tend to stay for the people, right? You don't want to make life harder on someone else."

Exactly. But, in the end, you cannot delude yourself. I should have left two or three years ago.

A big part of my staying on, for as long as I did, was the opportunity to mentor a younger person here from Canada. I've hired many people over the years and knew within 5 minutes she had the "intangible" qualities that always make them stand out. That proved out in a big way ...

So ... For three years, I have taught her a lot (I am employed as a Business Systems Analyst in an electric utility) and given her opportunities to learn what should would not have otherwise (her words, not mine). I've always encouraged her that, no matter what happens where we are currently employed, the things she is learning will help her no matter where she goes or what she does ...

Upon learning I was leaving, she is also leaving. Right now, her plan is to head back to Victoria, at the tip of Vancouver Island, in British Columbia ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44