My favourite and least favourite thing about going to SteemFest | Will I find me some FIAT?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My favourite and least favourite thing about going to SteemFest | Will I find me some FIAT?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Greetings, dear and beautiful Soyrosa

From what you wrote, this steem fest must have been a lot of learning. I hope I can go on next heheeh.

Thank you and good night

Good Luck...it's actually really tough to hear after all the work you have put into your blog and posts...and you have...truly your blog is a work from the heart and you have crafted and built every post like a story. After all that it's not enough..yet.

The Steem Blockchain started as a hobby, and then turned into an obsession for me. I would prefer to have more time to to engage and post, but my work pays the bills and helps ensure I can at least support and try to help the people on here trying to grow their stake.

I'm confident in my investment in Steem though, as a cryptocurrency it has far more to offer then others and as Dapps continue to develop it will break free of this cycle of constantly following the valuation of it's peers.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hey dear @c0ff33a, thanks for your comment, it is truly appreciated! Yes, I've built it with heart, and I will never stop building it. I love this place and my investment in it is something I will nourish and protect with all I have. So I actually do hope I find some simple job I can do in order to be able to stay here. In the meanwhile I am trusting there comes a point in time where I am able to live off of this space, so I'm not worried, just realistic at the moment.

I know how involved you are, and I understand you're feeling it's not enough... Paying the bills has priority though :-)

Good luck, and we'll have a very different conversation in 2 years for sure ;-) (Hopefully sooner, but well... Let's stay patient :D)

find a simple job, one that takes away some of your financial stress but doesn't cost your mental energy.

That is probably really good advice for most people, but I used to work in a job that a badly trained monkey could do, but I absolutely hated it. It was mentally so draining, every day, to work with those monkeys and doing 150% because they could only operate on half the capacity.

I feel exactly the same as you about people on Steemfest, they weren't mentally draining at all, which is so shocking! I'm an introvert too, like you know and didn't feel at all introverted or drained by social life during Steemfest. Truly a revolutionary feeling. Now I just wanna hang with Steemians and no-one else.

I really hope you find some work that pays the bills but doesn't drain your body and soul.

I'm sorry you got so drained back then - the 'simple job' really only works if it goes together with the doesn't cost mental/emotional energy. And indeed - people that you feel are not inspiring can also take away MOST of your energy. For me it's often about finding something to do - and as long as I agree/support the vision of the company or the goals of the organization I don't mind doing the job. I just need to feel like I work together with like-minded people at some sort of goal that makes the world a little better or even a bit more beautiful.

Now I just wanna hang with Steemians and no-one else.

ME TOO! Within 4 days after being back home I had a Meet-Up and now I'm already organizing the next one. I will carry that feeling with me for a long long time, the utter disbelief that I can be social without needing to sleep a week first before going to the next conversation :')

Thanks for all the well-wishes <3 It will be fine. The confrontation just sucks. Living on a pink cloud for over a week and tomorrow looking going through all the corporate talk. Ugh.

I can feel you.
I was a university professor (for 21 years), just quit and am not sure what's next for me.

find a simple job, one that takes away some of your financial stress but doesn't cost your mental energy.

that has become my mantra in the last weeks. but that's not going to happen in venezuela. i have to leave the country, given this messy government does not look as if is going to end any time soon.

So, i know what it feels to want to continue doing this, but face the prospects of not being able to devote ALL your time and having to drain your energy in some job that is going to take away what you really want to do, what you really are.

So, the best of luck!
May you receive the best vibes and get that ideal job.

Thanks for your comment dear @hlezama! Sounds like you're in quite an impossible situation yourself. Having to leave the country is tough in itself, but to start over after that... Especially finding a job sounds difficult to me in a country where everything is new and you maybe don't have a network to rely on, yet. I hope you will find some relief soon. Do you know which country you will go to?

Thanks, @soyrosa. It is going to be hard, no question about it. We have been offered some support from Chile (some relatives), so we are considering that option, as well as other not yet confirmed. Things have gotten complicated with all the new restrictions neighboring countries are imposing as a result of such a massive wave of venezuelan migrants.

Sounds like you can use all the help you can get, I would maybe go to the first country that accepted me - at least to know one or two people to rely on for the first time is incredibly important in the situation you are in. I wish you all the best <3

Thanks. I appreciate it.

I wish I could find a job that didn't take a lot of mental energy AND paid my bills. I find that these things do not necessarily co-exist, at least in my area. Good luck on the job front- it was great hearing you on Meno's show!

Yes, the area where you're in can be for or against you as well! I'm in the city so it should be easier to find something :-) I'm happy to hear you listened to the show! Thanks for stopping by @sunravelme!

watch out for that sneaky ninja @meno! He will have you do ALL SORTS of crazy things live on air XD
And remember! Post-Steemfest blues is better than Missed-Steemfest Blues :( I was there last year and couldnt make it this year so I KNOW!!!

Oooh @basilmarples! I feel for you! After this year I can't believe I will ever forgive myself if I had to miss another SteemFest. I can only imagine the pain you must have felt when you realized you couldn't/wouldn't go this year. And yes, MenO is one to watch, lol, great guy <3

haha! Well that didnt make me feel ANY better about it :p

Ehhhhhhh what I meant to say was 'Don't feel bad, it's okay to miss the event every other year'!

Wah - reading through your article it really struck a chord with me. I am also an introvert and had my pie of struggles within the corporate world.

I wished we would have met at the Steemfest, maybe we could have exchanged some of our experiences and lessons learned. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, you're a fellow artist, so I can imagine we experience a lot of things in a similar manner! It's a shame indeed we didn't meet at SteemFest. I'm going to propose to make it a 10-day event so I can meet double the people without having to cut on the time I have to talk to each :')

You make some cool pieces, I especially like this one are you planning on posting again? :D

Sorry - for responding this late. 😥

I am not sure, if I would survive a 10-day event. But who never tries will never know - I guess. 🙃

Thank you kindly - after SteemFest I feel it would be a crime to not post again. 😅 I am currently working on an idea...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Such a bugger when we have to readjust our life plans. Good luck with your job hunting and I daresay you will keep writing on Steemit too.

Oh YES, I will miss no opportunity to keep on building what I've already built here on Steem. Thanks for the good luck wish @angiemitchell!

now, after almost a year of working on this platform, I know I can't keep this up much longer if I want to live a healthy stress-free life.

TI identify with what you're saying here Rosa. I worked and worked and worked... on content, in curie, in promo-mentors for a time. But the market downturn has scuppered my plans to subsist from steem, along with a few other factors.

find a simple job, one that takes away some of your financial stress but doesn't cost your mental energy.

I'm now taking a few shifts as a barman at a place where I know a lot of the punters and all of the staff. I'm hoping this wont deplete all my energy but I really don't know.

I felt like we lived on a different plane, our minds connecting through something bigger, something that's closer to optimism than I've ever felt in my life.

It is wonderful that steemfest was like that, and I felt something similar... but I guess it's different for everyone. I wished it would have gone on longer so I could have got to know more people properly. The time that it did last was special though and there is always next year :-)

P.s. I hope you find a job that fits... or even better, discover another avenue to earn through your creativity.

Hey @raj808, yes, we are in very similar situations! Pouring some drinks doesn't sound that bad, but sometimes the unsuspected things can deplete energy, like a specific colleague or even the shifts that are not timed right... Hope it is okay for you and you feel a bit of financial relief soon :-)

Yes, I seem to need more time to get accustomed to socializing then others, and once I got the hang of it everyone had left :') Learning a lot from it though, so next year I'll do better :D

Thanks for all the nice words, it was so nice hanging out in Krakow!

As a social introvert as well it’s really interesting to hear you received so much energy from the exchanges! Those mutually energizing connections are the best! And to have so many of them within a community, ✨pure magic!✨

YES it was truly special - I haven't forgotten you told me you will visit at SF4 - I can promise you the social aspect of it will be easier than you might think now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74