Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: How to exercise if one foot can't be used?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Limited mobility | Unlimited stories: How to exercise if one foot can't be used?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Oh my. It's amazing how much we are dependent on our feet (without realising it mostly). I hadn't even thought of the exercising issues.

I have a relative who's temporarily in a wheelchair while rehabilitating her lower back, and she uses these arm operated pedals for aerobics.

The thing with those is you get your arms and shoulders worked out but your legs don't get any action.

I've seen this

I've seen this

It feels like your comment got broken off?


But hey, that machine looks awesome! Sorry to hear she is having a hard time right now, but I'm excited that there is a machine that can help her stay fit while rehabilitating. I am working with some soccer players currently and one of them talked about a machine that basically removes gravity for you so you can 'run' but without all the weight on your feet. I just remember that one now, when I heard about it I wasn't even ready to walk normally.

The problem is I never had a real rehabilitation program, and maybe I should've pushed harder for that. In hindsight it was freaking hard to try to find all of this out myself :-)

Ah, sorry, that was how I was going to start my reply but I forgot to delete it haha. I think I was going to say "I've seen this machine at my relative's place..." or something like that.

That sounds like some expensive machine - the gravity one. When steem moons one day, you can get an exoskeleton foot wear.

The technology is moving very fast now. It's designed to help take the weight off the ankles and also reduce the work the calf muscle is doing. There are a few versions being worked on/tested. Exciting times.

Ohhh YES - I'm very much trying to follow these advancements, and I even have some hopes they will be able to treat my specific case with a combination of an operation and stem cell treatment in the future. Who knows! I believe I'd look pretty cool in that exoskeleton :D

Exercise with limited mobility IS problematic. As a young athlete I spent 13 weeks in a hip to toe cast for an ankle injury. I tried everything and never could get the leg exercise I felt I needed with one leg. I even tried a stationery bicycle pedaled with one foot.

Times have changed. I find that a personal trainer really works for me because when I'm paying I'm getting the benefit. My problem is not being able to continue for one reason or another (generally sloth in my case).

I always hated the repetition of exercise. Particularly when I got to the age where I wasn't trying to improve what I had, but trying to maintain it. It really was the boredom of it all that ended it for me.

I'm sure there is a 'sweet spot' for you. And it may be a moving target for all your days. I have friends that swear by Yoga but I have no personal experience.

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

first thing i thought when started reading was yoga.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I was doing exercises yesterday and stand up this morning with pain in the right foot.

And this just make me smile 😊😂 maybee tomorrow i cant use both

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.288 which ranks you at #778 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Good luck @soyrosa with more solutions to your bad foot :/ I've hurt my foot in a small way and you don't realize something until it is out of commission.

It sounds like you are trying hard to find solutions though, so good on you.

I think rijndam can give free tips on both excersize and materials weet ik van iemand hier op school.

Ik ga hun eens bellen <3 Ik denk dan altijd dat je een doorverwijzing nodig hebt. Dankje!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nee advies is gratis en ze hebben ook allerlei mogelijkheden intern

You got a 12.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @soyrosa! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80