Changing after the crisis

in #life2 years ago

Something happened with my dentist. And by "my" I mean the dentist I visit in the last years, since I'm living in this place.

IMG_20220609_170744~2.jpg

He was chosen according to recommendations, yes.
Because nothing happens in our country without recommendations. And looking for a good doctor or dentist is like looking for a needle in a haystack (how is that in your country?)

IMG_20220609_170751~2.jpg

So I was more or less content with the work of this man so far. There was just one little incident that I had to swallow, put up with, because I finally decided that it was something that wouldn't be seen, no matter how big I smile. Only I will know that it's there, that it doesn't look good at all, and that this person then completely changed the shape of my front tooth and made it look grotesque on the gum side.
But like I said, I had to put up with it as I have no other alternative.

IMG_20220609_170757~2.jpg

If I have to go back over the years, I can say that the worst dental experience I've had was in Belgium. The best - in Germany. But in Bulgaria, the probability of finding a bad and incompetent dentist in the cities outside the capital is huge. And only in the capital can one really find something good.
Which currently means that if I want to get quality care, I have to pay a lot of money, much more than the amount that already has to be given when it comes to health services. Because I will also have to pay for transport, accommodation, food, etc. to get to the capital.

IMG_20220609_170835~2.jpg

But back to my last dentist. As I said, something changed in his overall work.
I recently realized that I haven't visited him in a year and a half. And that's because he used to always say things like: This tooth can wait. This filling may still live. Are you sure you want me to clean the tartar? You can still wait. That costs money, you know. It is also an aggressive procedure for the teeth…
Quite strange, right? It was as if he didn't want to take my money.

IMG_20220609_170841~2.jpg

Well, not this time. This time he offered me one very expensive variant right away. The next variant was still expensive too, giving the fact that part of the price should have been covered by the health fund.
But it turns out that the price, regardless of whether a person has health insurance or not, is the same, only in one case the supplement of the health fund is added to this price. (then what's the point of paying for my health insurance? - this is a constant question we all ask ourselves every day since we always pay for everything)
And finally he again just changed the shape of my tooth to save on the build material. But he did it in such a clumsy way that the filling began to break the very first day after it was put in, as the pressure on all the teeth changed.

IMG_20220609_170933~2.jpg

At the moment, I am asking myself many questions on this occasion - did this person change completely after the crisis? Didn't he completely screw up his job? Didn't he get too greedy?
Have we all changed in this way? And if this is not the case, then who have changed? Only those who are set to change? Precisely in this, unpleasant direction...

Thank you for your time! Copyright:@soulsdetour
steem.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.

Personally, I am a sensitive soul with a strong sense of justice.
Traveling and photography are my greatest passions.
Sounds trivial to you?
No, it's not trivial. Because I still love to travel to not so famous destinations.🗺️
Of course, the current situation does not allow me to do this, but I still find a way to satisfy my hunger for knowledge, new places, beauty and art.
Sometimes you can find the most amazing things even in the backyard of your house.😊🧐🧭|

Sort:  

Sounds frightening...

"My" dentist retired. So I will have to seek for a new one. Not really funny.
But I can find a few altenatives (about 5 or 6) within walking distance from the place I live. This is not typical for Germany, not even for its capital.

Like @quotes-haven said:

We hope that they are more interested in our health than in making more money from us.

Therefore I will first look if the rooms contain luxury. Then I will hear if he or she proposes expensive works where I can see no need for. If one of those not fits to me I will be able to change to another dentist nearby - so I hope!

If there is a great change in the "system" or in the sphere of the nearby dentists I will have to look for other solutions...

The dentist I am talking about is located 15 km away from where I live. In the city 5 km. distance turned out to be nothing. I.e. there are dentists, but they are not recommended. In the city 15 km. away, there is some quality dentist who works for exorbitant sums. I found this out very recently. And that was it for the area, nothing more.
On the other hand, trying one dentist or another is not entirely safe because someone can really do something irreparable to your mouth. So I can't just say - today I'll go to this one, tomorrow to that one. All of this costs money. The last money I gave was in vain and will not be refunded. In fact, I won't go to this person any more. And the only thing I have left is to go to the capital, where I know good dentists in person.
And that's just one of the many things that makes one feel helpless in this country - if we go back to our last conversation about why I speak in such a way about it and about the people who live here :)

if we go back to our last conversation why I speak in such a way about it

I expected this...
...and can see now a little better what you mean.

Although this is actually just one small and insignificant part of the whole impossible picture :)

That's always the problem with health care and dental care. We just have to put our trust in the doctors and hope that he or she is a good doctor. We hope that they are more interested in our health than in making more money from us.

From my experience here, I could say that doctors who are truly interested in people's health and how to heal them can be counted on the fingers of the hands. And even if they were once like that, they then easily change in the opposite direction.

True. 😊 I hope you will find a better dentist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73