What if the biggest conspiracy is the lies we tell ourselves?

in #life7 years ago

conspiracy_0.jpg

I can’t help hearing that line in the Talking Heads song when I start to think about who I am and what is my purpose.
“This is not my beautiful House, This is not my beautiful car, and this is not my beautiful wife”
How did I get here?
Obviously I have become the person I am based on the experiences in my life. That seems simple enough but I have found that there is a twist. It seems my memories may be slightly skewed.

3DF750FF00000578-4282570-It_is_a_crime_to_possess_the_Class_A_drug_heroin_pictured_but_po-a-27_1488676479548.jpg

I’m about 4 years old and my father is very sick again. My mother packs us up and brings us to a neighbor’s apartment across the court. My mother was having a hard time holding my father up but we made into the building and into the elevator. My mother was very nervous and didn’t seem to have much patience for me. I vaguely remember being afraid. Once inside the apartment, I remember my dad laying on the couch and I was distracted by the two giant cats that lived in the apartment. The moved so differently than people. They flowed and were slinky for lack of a better word .They were huge must have been about 4 foot tall on all fours. I vaguely remember the neighbor giving my father some kind of medicine in a needle and that’s about all I can remember.

2y696-big15.jpg

For years I held this memory of these giant cats. They must have been some kind of special breed. I forgot all about my father being sick or the lady giving him medicine to make him better. I never again got to see cats this big or knew anyone that had them. About five years ago, at the age of 46 I figured out the mystery of the giant cats. You see to a 4 year old they were giant cats. That’s the way they lived in my memory. As I got old my memories did not compensate for that fact. I just believed that giant cats were real and existed. I told myself a story in my head when I was a child and it became a fact.

If my memories and experiences define who I am, and I have just found out that my interpretation of those experience were not exactly the way it was , I may not be who I think I am. Holy crap, all this time thought I knew who and what I was only to find out I may have been mistaken about how some of the details in the events that had happened in my life.

The truth is that I have walked this earth for 50 years and for 45 of those years believed that there were giant cats. Some people doubted me but, I had seen them with my own two eyes. I was 100% percent sure that they existed and I would bet any amount of money that I was right. What we believe becomes our truth, our reality

belief.png

The other thing about our beliefs is that we are convinced that what we believe is the absolute truth. All through history we are told stories about heroes that have died for their beliefs. We are told again and again about how important it is to stand for something we believe in. Yes it is very important to stand up for what you believe in. The trouble is that if you did a little investigating you may find out that what you believe is wrong. Wow! That realization has to come as a shock. It did to me.

earth-shattering.jpg

If I was wrong about one belief it’s possible I have been wrong about others. OMG! How many others? With this realization my whole world was about to be turned upside down.

#circleoffriends

Sort:  

I found this out somewhat when my friend told me he fucked a girl we knew but I highly doubted it knowing he was lying to save pride. After a few years I met that girl and she was like "fuuuuck noooo."

This dude still believes to this day he fucked her but she adamantly swears they didn't and I had no reason to believe she was lying and every reason to believe he was.

I never called him out on it because I was curious to how strongly he believed it and to this fucking day he brings up how he fucked that girl. It has become him
now 😂🤣 and shaped who he is.

People will hold on to what they believe very tightly

The realizations usually work in the way to make a complete turnaround of a person's psycho, but usually it is just a little chunk of reality that implodes to a discord.

Thank you for that deep comment

What an intriguing post you have here the thoughts we have and beliefs that we form of our selfs not being the true reality of the way things are.I enjoyed this and up voted also fowled you please feel free to do like wise,Cheers

thank you for the comment. I will check out your blog

So glad I'm not the only one that thought the same thing about 'Talking Heads' Stop making sense....one of my all time favorites, love your post, Funny how as we get older we think back questioning things. :) following upvoted

thank you for your comment. Older and wiser hopefully!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 1.63 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sostrin.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 7.24 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @sostrin. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

This post has received a 5.79 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @sostrin. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

The fact is, no one lives the same reality. People who grow up side by side still live different lives. Belief is a scary thing sometimes. It gives many people the right to kill, steal, enslave other people, all based on belief. We should teach our children about this idea from very early on. Good post. Hopefully this will spread.

thank you for the comment. I think children should be taught about living consciously.

Yes, all of your dearly held beliefs should be questioned and examined. You will end up with a better grasp on reality.

thank you for your comment. Yes exactly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56087.39
ETH 2965.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15