You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Authenticity Paradox: The Fine Line Between Honesty And Bullshit...

in #life7 years ago

So, I'm an unschooler mom. Supremely oversimplified this means I think my kids are people and should be treated as such, naturally driven to learn, yada, yada. So, I joined this group for radical unschooling moms. I thought, hey, I'm radical, right? So, I get on, and there's a mom who's talking about how she wants to support her daughter in whatever she does, but her daughter likes Barbie, Life in the Dreamhouse. (What, you've never watched it?! You've no clue what you're missing!). Anyway, I basically said you can let your kid watch whatever, but there's no law that says you need to like it. I don't like a lot of stuff my kids watch. My point was that teaching your kids to honor their yeses by honoring your own is an important piece of teaching them to be authentic. They railed on me about how authenticity can be so hurtful. So, I left the group cause you're never gonna convince me that I need to love my little pony in order to be a good mom. I don't go telling them their shows suck, but I do say, no, I don't really like that show, so I'm not going to watch with you. When you're done, we can play together. I don't play race cars with my son because it bores me to tears, but I'm all about some blocks. We can authentically connect without me having to lose myself or pretend I'm someone else. However, I did receive their point that authenticity can be taken to assholery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55