My Lobster Fest From Back in The Day Toronto Canada - 100% @SolarGuy ContentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I just finished reading an enlightening article by @jrcornel and brief history of Lobster as a delicacy which inspired this post.


Which got me thinking about the time I feasted at home on lobsters with my friends.

But this seems like ancient history back 2009 and I haven't seen these friends in years. At the time I was working hard and making little like so many others. One payday I just got the urge to cook my own lobsters and make an event out of it.

(wow I look happy)

(It's easy to get home sick this time of year for us expats and we find ourselves reminiscing about the past over the slightest little reminder.)


My good friends and now ex gf (the cute blonde one closest to the camera, the other is her sister.).

I had heard that Lobster were the Roaches of the sea but I learned it for a different reason. I remember I once went lobster fishing on the east coast of Canada in Nova Scotia. The fishermen were explaining how fast lobster reproduce and are bottom feeders, just like roaches. I found it fascinating that at one time lobster was poor people food back in the day. Which makes perfect sense considering all the info he mentions.

Please see his post here
https://steemit.com/life/@jrcornel/ever-heard-the-expression-roaches-of-the-sea

This is my journey into the world of cooking lobster at home.

First buy the live lobster. Try make sure you pick out the one that arrived most recently. Once lobster are caught they don't feed and after a few days they meat begins to change texture.

They are rather alien looking creatures aren't they? What ever an alien may look like. If I didn't know how freaking delicious they were smoothered in butter I would probably chase them off with sticks. lol

The proper way to eat lobster is with your hands. Probably another reason it was meant for the lower class back in the day, it wasn't very civilized way to eat. Cracking and crushing shells at the table. Butter dripping down your chin on to your shirt, though I doubt the poor people back then were eating butter as that was a luxury item unless you were a farmer. Best food ever has and always will be eaten with your hands!!

The Begining You mustn't forget a cheap bottle of white wine.

The Ending

Nothing civilized about it and that's the way I like it.

Now here you can see Chef Gordon Ramsay truly a culinary master fillet a Lobster like a champion. I wish I could do it like him.


3 minutes of amazement. Promise.

(promoted $2.00 with hopes its used wisely. Which of course it will be)

All Steem Power Baby!!!
I hope you found this article interesting and unique..

任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

Please see other posts of my Life in China 请参阅我在中国生活的其他邮件
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/a-truly-haunted-place-i-discovered-in-the-hillside-of-dalian
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/dalian-china-summer-s-end-canadian-style-bbq-bbq

Other posts from my Sustainable Future Series.
https://steemit.com/green/@solarguy/biodegradable-plastics-are-set-to-change-the-world-green-alternatives
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/prickly-pears-they-ain-t-just-for-eating
https://steemit.com/science/@solarguy/growing-organic-spirulina-at-home
https://steemit.com/science/@solarguy/bio-fuels-for-carbon-capture-using-algae

Sort:  

Looks like a fun party. :)

You can come to the next one. That would be awesome.

Ha Ha, You got it!

Those are huge! Dipped in soy sauce w/ lemon ;)

I've had it that way before in a chinese restaurant. It's pretty good like that too.

What do you use with it? Filipinos do it that way ;)

I like it with just just a bowl of melted butter and minced garlic to dip it into. and squirt of lemon.

Is that similar to mayonnaise? Ive seen it like that in Europe.

No. Nothing at all like mayo. Mayo is made from eggs and vegetable oil.

Just take some butter, mince some garlic into it. Heat it up until is liquid like water and smell delicious.

Garlic and butter yes they do. Wil have to try that when am back in london.

What a great post! And thank you very much for the mention and for the kind words! Us lobster lovers gotta stick together ;)

Oh yea. We have 3 major religions that are fighting our right to eat shellfish. lol

Happy you liked it

This makes me miss Norway, where we can just pick these up from the fjords and eat them! :) Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69