You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 7: Conquering another day sober with PTSD.

in #life8 years ago

Drop a tag right now 4 work but 5 do not.
I'm glad you passed the gas station, I know living with PTSD is no fun at all, I got to the point I walked out of work over 1 year ago, and have not been able to go back. There are several others in the same boat, I never really got into drinking that may have helped me a bit, but I know what you mean about the moods, I wake up in that angry mood I can not get anything done, and what ever I try that day seems to fail making my mood even worse. Don't give up hope, there are several of us here with you.

Sort:  

Thanks for the support @smysullivan. Adding and utilizing one "tool" a week is my goal. Eventually I will run out of new tools to add or will have 52 new ways I feel help me to deal with my triggers.

That seems like a great strategy keep it up. I still need to find my triggers but this time of year is the hardest, I was in a war zone with 0 ammo, in the infantry no less, I don't trust the authorities any more.

Not trusting others is one of the biggest negatives of this whole thing. Hard to ask for help when you can't trust others. Letting my guard down and going to Cognitive Processing Therapy with the VA helped me to learn a little about my triggers. Granted the whole experience didn't end the greatest IMO but it started me on the journey I am on now. Hopefully, I can help give you the courage to take the leap towards a positive steps you may have been thinking about.

Thank you for the encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69