You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Resource Credits Preventing Spam? Yes (Proof Inside!)

in #life6 years ago

Yes going through new is quite the battle. If I am really looking and hoping to find quality content I use steemlookup and filter by rank, which in itself is scary how many high rep assholes we have but alas we can't get a flag bot with static rep to bring them down a notch like a judge dredd of steem .... Oh yeah new is tricky but steemlookup helps a lot, in the case of art I also add that I want the post to contain at least a 100 words because obviously and at least 2 images if I am struggling to find things.

I like your formula and that would be a case of the system protecting itself I imagine the smts will be able to implement it and steem wishes to merely be a solid foundation or else I would say further improving the way we vote could be done in much the same way, using a radius of who votes for who and how often your vote loses it's affect the more often you vote for the same people or person. Obviously this has many ramifications considering followers etc but I think is worth a thought for now RC is not a bad move and we will soon just be use to it.

  • RC recharges 0.83% an hour and you can get much better stats on here
    Use to get a better indication of how long till recharge and the current cost of your actions - replace my name with yours https://beempy.com/power/smokingfit the G = Giga / Billion
Sort:  

Steemlookup was a solid service last time I checked, but it's been awhile. I've been meaning to get over there and drop them a line. Another thing on my to-do list I guess.

At times I'll post a short post. Sometimes the art I produce takes a long time and I'm short on words, feeling quiet or whatever. It's not a bad thing and I do it sometimes to encourage people to keep things simple, just to make it a little easier. Some of set the bar pretty damn high and it's daunting for some. All content is welcome and even a short post can say a lot sometimes. This place isn't all about writing. I enjoy photography and those posts don't say much in word form because it distracts away from the actual content being presented which is the photo. Short posts like that I still see the effort and respect it because I know what it takes to produce images. It can be a lot of work.

But they must be clear and at least say they took the photos otherwise it's hard to tell if it's just a pic downloaded from the web somewhere. Those people ruin it for everyone.

As for these changes here. I see it working now, plus I know we still need time. I can see the good coming from this, so that's a start. Many are still angry and that isn't helping much.


P.S. Anyone reading this. I just responded to a new member with low SP and RC. Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. I can only do so much with my votes.

Yes it is up to us curating to also not fall in the trap of quantity vs quality , if they credit etc and feel that their content represents them then why not post it even though others may feel it is little or shitposting.

As for your edit, this is a delegated account from my main one @penderis which is not a new account, I created this one so I can feel better about posting shorter content, test all the different interfaces and dapps without trashing my main account which by now has a persona / type ?

Do you think a person should mention that? I understand you are really looking out for people and it is commendable, with that said you can always tag me on either this account or @penderis and I can assist where possible, not to mention that we have the @BuddyUp community to further assist even if just to help with an upvote on quality content and sharing it in the plethora of discords. :)

That's something I never tried. Two accounts. My followers have grown accustomed to my unpredictable ways, so I guess that's my type, which is nearly impossible to mess up. Total freedom.

I just wanted help. I see new accounts, everyone says they can't get anywhere and I'm saying all they need is curation and a bit of time. That's the only solution I could think of with this new RC system. Seems simple enough.

As for discord, I've been invited a few thousand times now. I spend so much time here, it's hard to get away. Hard to find time for other platforms.

There are ways to obviously think about it for one you have your followers as we all seem to make our connections and have those few in most cases that vote etc, now with the rise of actifit, share2steem,dlike etc those who came and solidified their accounts by blogging specifically or at least writing in some form (taking themselves too serious :) are left with a predicament hence a "shitpost" account is good since it is not all about making money but in a way still is since actifit gives generous votes dlike gives votes etc most dapps do but do you "litter"your account with that content because that is a quick way to get some votes but may not be the content you want your "blog" to be.

Personally this resolves the cognitive dissonance I had where I want to keep my main account for the "important stuff" and SBI , the second account can go be a content slut and it is fine by me, obviously I then do not boost that (this) account since again I will be faced with a moral dilemma.

On the one hand a person wants to make money and seemingly posting for the sake of posting is how you do that in the sea of social media which steem now has become (just a fancy DB and monetizing avenue) or you see the value in improving yourself through posting what you mean and making connections regardless of the monetary value which is a bonus.

I may seem confused, haha because I tend to do that to myself but it is a mentality that needs some consolidating and even more exploration. For me the second account is good since I get to just play with it and not be concerned with any constraints I may have put on myself or even what has come to be expected of "my account".

  • The RC boost the accounts got is quite generous whether it will be permanent I am not sure but if it goes away or gets reduced (most likely) then we might see even less of what you shared, odd thing is my delegated account did not seem to get such a big boost vs a new bought account they tested to help the newbies in @welcomewagon understand the effects of this on their smaller accounts. So we might still be in for a few changes.

I respect all of these different avenues one can take here. I totally get it. If I took part in those things you mention, I probably wouldn't want to have it on this blog. My blog already looks strange but adding something kind of normal would stand out like a nose zit.

I rarely sit down and talk about Steemit like this post. I'm mostly focusing on the arts and entertainment, hence the crude styling of this post and humor mixed in. This is me taking things seriously LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66095.52
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49