Dream a little dreamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Every night I get books read and songs sung but the last few nights I have had trouble falling asleep. I am not sure why but I think it may be stress related. I have a lot on my mind.

There are so many things going on in the world and all of life's failures are starting to weigh me down. Just today, another page in a book got ripped, my soft toy was in the dog's water bowl and the worst of all, my car has broken down! It seems to be an electrical problem. I press buttons and flick switches but there are no lights or music. Fred Flintstone cruising around the coffee table is just not the same without good tunes.

It is true, bad things really do come in threes. Life can be tough.

Tonight though, I fell asleep much faster than usual and there wasn't even a tear. Daddy put me to bed tonight and he remembered to do something that I love and always calms me. He 'Ommmmms.'

Some of my earliest memories are from when I was young and I had an upset belly. It was always so sore and I couldn't tell anyone what was hurting so would cry. I am not proud of it but it was the only way they could really know. So, Daddy would lay me on his stomach while I faced the ceiling, and he would make an 'Omm' sound like some hippy at a meditation retreat.

I could hear the sound but the best part was I could feel the sound through his body into mine. For the time that he would do it I would be able to calm down and relax a little. Sometimes, I would fall asleep and he would hold me there until I awoke. I always felt better after.

I had forgotten about it too as it was sooo long ago but tonight daddy sang and then did this until I fell asleep. I am unsure when he left the room but I know he stayed there a bit longer than he needed to. He likes it when I hold his hand as I fall into sleep. I think it reminds him of the day I was born, but that is another story.

For now, I better sneak back into bed before I get caught posting. Goodnight.

<3
smallsteps

Sort:  

Congratulations @smallsteps! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

please don't forget to write the pic's source :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98