The Cotton Mill Chronicles of Slobberchops

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For a very brief time in my life I worked in one of these Lancashire Cotton Mills which are quite distinctly from another time period.

I had finished my tenure at Kwiksave, and needed a new challenge. Actually the money was a little better and that was the instigator!

Sometimes you have to make that risky move from being Shelf Filler to a Can Mover!

ytbm8zokjq.jpg
Source

The factory I worked in was not unlike this one depicted. Grim, dirty, unattractive, so why should I move from my prestigious role of getting bags of sugar thrown at me from a truck to moving cans from one place to another. Yes, the job role was just that. Move a huge can of cotton from point (A) to point (B).

This was typical of the opportunities given to someone with no experience besides supermarket work, little (at the time) educational merit and a subdued outlook on his career path.

My IT career was on the horizon but was not there just yet. I had applied to the local computer distributor for work and got no reply. A CV stating I was an enthusiastic Atari gamer and budding cracker didn’t push the right buttons I suppose. I was to gain employment at this particular establishment 4 years later.

Lambert Howarth appears to have gone bust, and states it was a slipper factory, though I swear it was cotton when I worked there.

My memories of the inside of the factory are rather murky. My girlfriend’s brother and mother both worked at the Rawtenstall, Lambert Howarth factory and I recall having to go for a medical test to clinch the job.

pxaof00bn3.jpg
Source

I was required to wear earplugs as the decibel level of the weaving machines was around 120db. As much as I search the internet, I can’t find a job spec of ‘Can Mover’. The ‘can’s were around 6 feet tall, loaded with cotton and I simply had to move them from the weavers area to a lift shaft.

There was another bloke who took them from there. During the first week, said bloke took a dislike to me and socked me in the chin for a reason I can’t remember. It was not a hard blow, but he was distinctively unfriendly.

There was a ‘smoke room’ which was full enclosed and stained with a mid brown colour. Entering the room was like being voluntarily gassed, the cloud that emitted from door literally bellowed out when it was opened.

1cmky9ul7y.jpg
Source

I ventured in only once and that was enough for me. Being a non-smoker helped immensely. It seemed like 95% of the workforce smoked at that time.

Shift work was normal practice at Cotton Mills. Week one was 6am-2pm, followed by 2pm-10pm.

I have never been so bored in my entire life working in this factory. As I mentioned somewhere before, you had two choices when leaving school; the supermarkets or the factories. After experiencing both, I now know I chose the correct one as my initial career choice as bad as that was.

Anyone who has read my The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops series will know I despised working there, but this was a whole new level of torture.

0oda072rfv.jpg
Source

Working in this factory was sheer repetitiveness, boredom, companionless work unless you counted Mr Bully who repeatedly sneered at me, ‘I’m going to make your life miserable’ or ‘Your mine now kid’ or feigned a blow which connected sometimes but without much force.

This guy was quite a bit bigger than me and not to be toyed with. I just didn’t want to get involved in stupid quibbles.

Halfway through Week (2), which was the 2pm-10pm shift, I decided enough was enough and did not show for work. My career at Lambert Howarth was just 7 working days.

I preferred to be unemployed than work at this miserable, 18th century workhouse where I was bullied everyday. It was one of the finest and decisive moments of my career to date and I have absolutely no regrets about what I did.

35gquf0yg3.jpg
Source

Most of these mills have either been demolished or are in the process of being. I say good riddance to them. My memories are nothing but bad ones.

All stock photographs I have used are filtered as ‘Labelled for reuse’ or 'Labelled for noncommercial reuse' and the sources have been cited.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

You really had to all the way down the anachronistic rabbit hole and feel the decline and fall of British cotton production! Great that you all these years after can let us get a taste of it too.

Kwiksave was heaven compared to the factory experience. The skill of 'Can Moving' is now lost to man, a shame eh?

Important knowledge lost.

My poor mam worked her whole life in one of those hell holes as did most of the women from around here. Makes me feel quite lucky.

And yet so many Americans regret the closing of the factories - "all the good factory jobs have moved overseas." They might pay a living wage, but not what I'd call a good job

Wow, that is horrible! I can't imagine how bad that would have been. Funny how much things change. There is no way that guy would have been able to box you around like that these days.

Yes, people didnt give a crap then, its not like that anymore.

Well at least you had that experience and know the feeling. I had some hard working experince in the past, and can appreciate good opportunities this days.

Bloody hell! I thought those places had all closed by the end of the second world war! A small insight into the conditions my grandma had to work in. My mum is from Yorkshire, and my grandma, who was born in 1897, had to work in a cotton mill from the age of 13. I've always been told that the long hours sitting down working gave her a health condition called Menders which affected her hips and made it difficult for her to give birth.
My father was from the Bahamas, and his ancestors were slaves. Sometimes I wonder which was worse!

great story with photos..except the one (image) at the bottom .. I can't handle it..lol

Ahhh... I think we have been here before haven't we? :)

I know I am persistent.. can you put another one? LOL
@slobberchops
giphy-1.gif

I did think about commissioning @katharsisdrill to make me a new 'slobberchops' avatar but I have found over time that my present one has ingrained itself into my psyche somehow.

I see you this way, now.

keep this one ... maybe make it small at the bottom of your post ..just sayin'

Loading...

I think 'budding' hacker might be overstating the case a bit :)

I think I said, 'cracker'. I was enjoying ripping 64 games at the time courtesy of being trained by Neil. He did bullshit but knew a little about cracking and I learnt quite a lot from him.

P&P didn't seem so interested in this.

Their loss. Aligata software actually employed me because they thought I was a hacker (which mean't more tinker back then).

There is a distinct difference between 'hacker' and 'cracker'. I found the latter experience I gained helps enormously with my current skills which is not too dissimilar sometimes.

Our lives have followed uncannily similar paths! After leaving Kwiksave, I went to work at a lace mill! haha Maybe it is the same for all northerners xD

Oh no..., and which did you prefer? It only get better after this horrific experience for me. There's probably no more 'chronicles' to tell now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89