My wonderful original home Island of Penrhyn.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

top_offer_summer_20131.jpg

Welcome to my original home Island of Penrhyn. Penrhyn is one of the fifteen islands that make up the Cook Islands.It is the Northern most island within the Cook Island group. It is located 1300km west of Tahiti and a similar distance east of American Samoa. This is one of two of my original Islands. My other home Island is Palmerston, where my name is Joseph Marsters, I am known by no other name while on this Island. It is a traditional thing that other cultures find difficult to understand. The above photo was taken inside the reef at a little motu (bay) called Motutapu. Views like this is commonplace.
I spent my childhood here. I could not image a place more tranquil than this. It was a truly wonderful childhood filled with adventure and excitement. I remember the days of crayfish gathering and boy those crayfish were huge and so succulent when cooked.I can still remember the juices dribbling down the sides of my mouth! Yummy beyond your imagination. Or the days out fishing and my greatest joy was catching a parrot fish with an old bamboo rod, those buggers can fight...made dragging in a parrot fish a real pleasure.
With both my Dad and siblings we built a traditional house. This I count as one of my major achievements as I think this was really one of the last times we as a family were really united with a clear purpose and were determined to complete this as a truly united family.
I would spend days running after both wild pigs and chickens and the enjoyment of being able to ran freely with the air in your hair. My fondest memory was being loved by my Grandmother on my Dad's side and my Grandfather on my Mother's side. They loved me unconditionally and I loved them in equal measure. I left the Island at 13 after being there for 2 years and return 6 years later alone as a young man , sorely to see them both one more time before they passed. Glad I made that trip as getting there is not an easy matter. It can take up to a week by boat (slow,old, creaky, smelly cargo ship).
myuncle.jpg

This is a photo of my Uncle, of whom I am named.
His house has my sister buried in a corner of the house as with tradition. Before the Missionary's arrived we used to mummify our close relatives and dressed them up in fantastic clothing and set aside a corner for them, within the house .I love my Uncle with every fiber of my being.

penrhyn-003.jpg

The Christian religion plays a vital part of our culture. Unlike other places, on Penrhyn no one is allowed to play,work or have open fires on a Sunday. Sunday is purely for God and the church! You can attend up to 3 services in a day

imageproxy.jpg

This is my village Cook Islands Christian Church in Tetautua. The name of the church is Bethlema

()

We were famous for the best black pearls and the above photo is of divers in 1900.
imageggs.jpg
cf623e971a462388410370568f1a13ad--cook-islands-family-gatherings.jpg
Today's divers on an rock outcrop in the main lagoon. I spent months diving for pipi pearls and occasionally mother of pearls. The fantastic memories keep flooding back. What a fantastic time! But beware sharks are plentyful!!!!!!!
I cannot describe to people just how fortunate I have been. I have lived a wonderful life and experienced the most amazing childhood, seen amazing things and experience incredible things.If people were to see the things I have seen and experienced they would sit in awe because now I get to share these amazing stories with others but more importantly I get to share them with all my Nephews, Neices and Grand children. I hope you all enjoyed this!

If you did like my post please upvote and follow me for future content and share with me wonderful and beautiful places that you have visited

Sort:  

beautiful place.. I would really like to visit this paradise sometime.

It has only now got 24 hour electricity and running water and personal toilets. That's how long that it has taken for it to join the modern world.

Hey @skytronia, I just hope some greedy developers don't to come to this paradise and try make it commercial with hotels and condos for tourists :(

There is virtually no treat of that. It is far to remote. It did however have an air force base during world war two located there and several years ago a Major military exercise was conducted there. It still has a research station there manned by New Zealanders, Australians and Americans. Also the law prevents the sale of land.
Military-Exercise-to-Develop-New-Zealand-Defense-Force-Capability-media.jpg

I thought I'll include a photo of what a typical village use to look like. I built one of these houses with my family.
ctc_01_img0272.jpg

so where do tourists stay?

There are a few home stays but generally because the Island is a communal society,people will tend to lend you a house for your stay. There are no hotels per say.However you will have a place to stay. We are renown for our hospitality!

That sounds like a childhood in paradise. It's very interesting for me to hear how other people in the world grew up, thank you for sharing your story :) Btw, as a woman I know these black pearls are pretty expensive, how lucky you are ^^

Yes this is exactly a paradise!;)That's where you need to rest!Good blog.

Thank you very much. It is a great place for rest.

Thank you for replying. I did manage over the years to keep a couple pearls, not much but I hope to return to the Island at some point, so will dive for more in time. I keep the pearls for my daughters, for their 21 st birthdays and for their weddings when they get around to it!

I think its a wonderful present because it is personal, they will appreciate it :)

I had sets of ear rings, necklace and wedding rings made. They both have their ear rings and necklaces as they are now both over 21. However the wedding rings are still in storage for their big day!

My brother ... you are from Cook Islands ? How nice ... I want to apply for residency there ?any chance ?

Marrying a Cook Island woman would be the fastest way. Not sure about the requirements in terms of residency but there is always a chance. Let me check it out and I'll get back to you. Cheers brother.

your home is really nice baby.
may i follow you.please help me on steemit.

Thanks @skytronia,
That is so interesting with your Traditions. Especially mummifying deceased relatives and then dressing them up and putting them in a corner for all to see. I never heard of such a thing but hey I'm open to new stuff :)

Hi Robert Andrew,
That was at a time before the arrival of the Missionaries. The practice is no longer performed but we still build a grave in the corner of the house or just outside the house. I've just taken a photo from dreamstime to show as an example.
All my ancestors graves were positioned around my Grandmothers house and I spent numerous nights sleeping on top of their graves as a child, especially so when the temperatures were high and a cooling sea breeze from waffing in from the sea or lagoon.
family-grave-rarotonga-cook-islands-sep-graves-sep-land-ownership-based-customary-native-title-s-very-common-34635388.jpg

This example would be more typical of what my Grandmothers house looked like...we have several concrete block graves surrounding the house
obj18777geo11543pg156p3.jpg

Absolutely beautiful. Seems like you have an amazing family too. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Thank you so very much. Glad to share. Will make further post based on History.

Thank you so very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86