Sort:  

Hi Robert Andrew,
That was at a time before the arrival of the Missionaries. The practice is no longer performed but we still build a grave in the corner of the house or just outside the house. I've just taken a photo from dreamstime to show as an example.
All my ancestors graves were positioned around my Grandmothers house and I spent numerous nights sleeping on top of their graves as a child, especially so when the temperatures were high and a cooling sea breeze from waffing in from the sea or lagoon.
family-grave-rarotonga-cook-islands-sep-graves-sep-land-ownership-based-customary-native-title-s-very-common-34635388.jpg

This example would be more typical of what my Grandmothers house looked like...we have several concrete block graves surrounding the house
obj18777geo11543pg156p3.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74