You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Took a Field Trip With My Students in China! [Pear Blossoms & Mountains]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"I thought the food was good, but I don't think many of my students enjoyed it. Don't forget that China has a middle and upper class, so they aren't used to eating food like this either. The food tastes very natural, which city-slickers might not enjoy."

Count me in that group!

If it smells strange, or has eyes looking at me, I'm not going to eat it.

I lived in rural Minnesota for many years, and nothing prepared me for the vast contrast between rural China.

To be fair, some of the factory cafeterias I have been to have been much worse, not sure if I can call it food.

I've ALWAYS been a picky eater though, especially by western standards.

Heh, the three dudes singing along with the guitar, so shy, they will have soooo many girls chasing after them.

I never sleep on buses either, or planes, sometimes on a sleeper train though.

Sort:  

Lol, I don't think you can survive in China being a picky eater. In Canada, I never liked eating fish with the bones; I always stuck to fillets lol. Nowadays I can eat fish quite easily except if there are too many bones. That always pisses me off lol.

I've gone days without eating, its not impossible. I cook at home mostly. I can eat instant noodles if all else fails.

When I travel, I often get lucky and usually find some really good local food, just look and sniff my way around.

There has to be something edible, and often times I'm quite surprised at how much better the food is most places in terms of quality, selection, and quantity compared to Shanghai.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50