Apple Macbook Pro - Should I get one or not?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am in a dilemma and I need some Steemian help! For months I have been thinking, spamming websites and checking out the prices to - potentially - get my hands on an Apple Macbook Pro.

Group.png

And I am still not sure. Or am I?

Exactly. That is my issue. Currently I am working on a ASUS GL552VW, a gaming laptop, and it's performace is pretty good. I have plenty of space, 8GB RAM, extra SSD and a pretty IPS screen. I have always had a Windows, but curiousity and limited designer programs are messing with my brains.

That too, next year I want to go travel, and I kind of want to leave this 15" 2,5kg monster at home and grab onto something smaller and lighter. I've been staring at Macbooks for months now, and the most repelling this is the price. It is probably no surprise, but these things are € 1500+ for a proper functioning one.

As a designer, I like to work with several programs at the same time, along with having several tabs open in my browser. Can a Mac handle this kind of behaviour? I am really looking forward to start using one due to it's UX, durability and some designer programs only available for Mac such as Sketch. But is the investment worth it for the specs you're getting?

I've been looking at the older 2015 model, which I think would suffice - also you can still properly use your normal USB ports. However, it is heavier than the newer versions.

For the lazy people, here are my personal pro's and cons listed!


YES:

  • UX
  • Pretty
  • Light
  • Programs such as Sketch

NO:

  • Price
  • No chance to upgrade
  • Price
  • Price

What is your opinion/experience with Apple Macbooks? Should I buy a Macbook Pro? Is it worth the investment? Yes or no? HELP A SISTER OUT



Also want one of these pretty footers? I do them for free! Check out this post for more information!

Sort:  

I've been using a Macbook for about eight years now - got my first in 2009, and my second in 2015.

They're amazing pieces of gear, but you do pay a premium. It isn't "worth it" in terms of raw value - because you can get a much more affordable deal, like 50% cheaper, by looking at Windows or Linux machines. But I will say - the experience is incredible if you are willing to invest in it, and the durability is obscene. After two years with my current Macbook, it still feels and functions as if it were brand new.

Yeah, I'd second the durability. My first MBP I got a good 4 years out of and gave it way functioning fine. This one has been going for another 4 years pretty much, with only a failed hard drive($150). They retain their value much better than a PC too, you can sell used MBP's for much more than used PCs.

This is great feedback. Thank you!

I know that for the specs, I could get a much better windows machine, but in terms of durability I was looking for an answer like this.

I have my windows laptop for 2 years now aswell, installed an extra SSD in it but already it has started to slow down. My hopes with Apple are that this will take much longer before it feel that it's performance is wearing off.

Okay since this is the comment section I will summarise as much as possible. If you are the type that likes to game on computers eg on Steam, Windows is your definite go to. If you use any programs on your windows frequently double check they are supported on Macs. If they are and you are not that much of a gamer and you have the money; I would go for a Mac. They are expensive but have many perks. Strong and last a very long time if taken care of, hold their value, sleek, very very rarely lag and have a pleasing GUI (only once you get used to it). Windows lose value quickly, can start lagging quickly unless has amazing specs, in most cases don't last very long, weigh quite a bit BUT windows supports everything Macs support and much more. Finding stuff you need online is so much easier for Windows so it really depends what you need. Worst comes to worst you can get windows downloaded for your new Mac.

There is a Steam dist for Mac and more and more games are made available.. There is also a lot more devercity in software since you can compile Unix code to run on a Mac. There is for example some really good wine-dists. I used one for the only app that wouldn't run on osx that I use. Worked like a charm, even the MIDI I/O!

Great news so if you have the money and the games you'll only ever want to play are compatible on Mac's steam...go for it!

Ooo. This sounds interesting :o

I do believe there are a lot more 'hacks' than before.

I am actually looking forward to the GUI and get to figure it out.

When it comes to gaming, I mostly only play League of Legends which actually can somewhat be played from a Mac - not recommended though. However I will keep a hold of my windows laptop, so I will most likely turn that one into a more general laptop for both me and my girlfriend and games ofcourse.

I bought one last year. Honestly I like it, but As a programmer I dont find much use of the touchbar. Its non glitchy, doesnt have much updates as windows, and if u have a iphone its so easy to go back and forth. It is a luxury brand with a luxury price, if u can afford it i say go for it. Follow me im going to do a review on my 15in macbook pro 2016 space grey soon. Ive been using it for almost a yr now

I will definitely not have one with a touchbar since I don't think it is worth that extra 200 bucks.

I think you're right. As a programmer you probably have a better use of Windows or Linux. I don't think I met many programmers with a Mac actually!

I am looking forward to your to review!

It's expensive but I feel sometimes you just need to ball out a little bit on yourself :D

Do you own one? :D And yes, I do agree! However, other than my driver's licence, it would be the biggest investment I did - ever.

You got it right... Apple is really fast n brilliant.much much better than Dell or Hp.

Thank you for your input :D

I have several MacBooks, one 13" and 15". It really all depends on the programs I recon. My 13" only has 125gb with 8gb memory. When i launch Photoshop, it automatically reserves 50% of available memory...I want to say it does the same with storage. If storage is tight, it slows down a lot. So this machine does okay running one powerful program but it can really slow down to a craw with anything else.

My other machine is a dual graphics card 15" w/500gb storage and 16gb memory. I use this machine for making videos with Final Cut Pro X. The extra graphics card is designed for movie editing and really helps compared to my older machine. Even with the extra storage, memory, graphics card, this machine will slow down when I'm doing a lot of editing...sometimes the program will crash on my serious edits. Thankfully it saves all changes instantly.

Anyhow, I don't know if that helps. I do have a larger desktop Mac which works great but I can't fit it in my carry on bag :(

Oh a Mac guru! Thank you for responding :D

I was thinking to go for a 13" with 256GB and 8RAM.

As a designer, photoshop is getting more and more inconvenient and I almost replaced it completely with Figma. It's an online designer tool, but still in beta.

I think my pull factor is the amount of other designer tools and integrations available for Mac only. Sketch, craft etc.

Photoshop maybe easier now that it's subscription based but I'm not sure. I still use CS6 that I bought on disc years ago. Anyhow, I think you're going to be happier with a 15" screen. I have both and prefer the 15" when editing. Now with that said, the 13" is slightly easier for traveling...smaller and lighter.

You could probably get a more for your money buying PC but Mac does have some nice specific programs. I'm really digging Final Cut Pro X for example. Anyways, I would consider 16 GB RAM if all possible. The storage isn't too bad, you can always buy an external portable hard drive. I take a 2TB or 3TB portable HD when I take my 13" due to it's small storage.

Definitely planning on bringing a hard drive. Though, I do have plenty or storage in OneDrive.

Not sure about the screensize. Let's find out! I'll probably visit the store today and take a look.

Before jumping on a Mac, make sure you see what windows has to offer first. I would recommend checking out a Dell XPS 13, Microsoft Surface Pro or Laptop, or a Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Carbon or Yoga.

If you are dead set on a Mac, you could also check out 2015 Macbook Pros. Some online retailers are still carrying them new and they may still suit your needs. In my opinion the keyboard is better since it has more travel, you get ports such as USB 3.0, Thunderbolt, HDMI and SD Card reader instead of just USB-C ports and dongles.

Thanks for your advice! I will definitely check out the 2015 model. I was planning to do some physical searching today down town. I'll see if I can find some. It does feel more convenient not to restrict myself to USB C and no hdmi only.

I have been using MBP's since they came out with 2011 model...I love them. I love OSX, it's different than a PC, but I'll never be able to go back now with the Screens, and all the great hotkeys. I am kind of in the same boat as you though...I totally want a new MBP, currently using 2013 model...but they are so expensive and almost totally not repairable. I've replaced the hardrive on my current one twice in four years...and I love that I can crack it open and work on it if I need to. I dunno what to tell you. You'd probably love it. They are quite powerful for how light they are, and the OS is incredibly smooth. Specs wise they aren't as powerful as similarly priced PCs, but you probably won't notice that unless you're doing extreme hashing/cracking/video work.

Thank you so much for replying! Yeah, I feel every year they get more and more restricted. Deciding whether to go for the 2015 or 2016 one aswell. Seriously, USB C?!

Actually I am really looking forward to play around with the screens and gestures.

that those are some of the best aspects I think...I use them nonstop. I don't think I could go back. sigh...I'm probably going to bite the bullet and buy a new one sooner or later. Maybe not this year

I honestly think that that is also one of the reasons Apple has a big advantage in. People got so used to their smooth GUI that they can't and hence don't want to go back to windows.

2 Hard drives in 4 years. Sounds like a lousy product to me. Only had one hard drive failure when a storm blew out a surge protector.

yeah, one of them died, the other I upgraded for speed / size. But the idea of not being able to just pop a new hard drive in definitely makes me kind of nervous...not mention I am somewhat offended by the idea of computers that you can't repair yourself....it just seems wrong.

Hi..
I am using Mac book Pro Since 2016..Its a nice gear.I have done a lot of fun / Office work with my Mac Pro.Its cool. But its my fate that the charger got damaged within 1.5 years. So i have to purchase a new adapter for my Machine..MAC Book Pro.

Now its cool..

That doesn't sound too bad!

Sure Ma'am.. You definitely go with this.

Ha ha... You are right, 3 out of 4 cons of Macbook Pro, or for that matter any Apple product, is PRICE. They are always tagged higher price. I would suggest you to spend some more time on steemit, earn some extra bucks to easily afford it. Best of luck dear 👍

I am not sure how many Parth Patels are alive, but if you're the one who came to work in Germany for awhile, then holy shit.

I am a freelancer and managed to save up am bucks from my work :) Also, if I power down I think I could buy myself a Mac already from Steemit money :D

Ha ha. I am surely not that Parth @sjennon. I have never been to Germany before 😀. Let's see if steemit make us enough rich in future then we can travel the world and may be meet each other 😀
Looks like your freelancing journey is quite a good one. Glad to know that you already have enough to buy Mac pro if you power down 👍

Hahah, well I guess it might be a popular name then!

Let's hope so. I would love to!

That's great! Keep in touch mate... 🙂

I could NOT walk,talk nor dance without my Mac Pro

Good morning!

You could or couldn't? :p Have you been a Mac Pro user for a long time?

Ups I corrected ....I could NOT live without my babe.
User forever so I might have nothing else to compare with but I don't feel right on a windows system

Hahahaa. I thought so! Thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79